« 이전계속 »
That is the lot owned by P. F. W. Peck, Esq., and in reality ho was not the first purchaser, for it is the same lot bought by Mr. Peck of Mr. Walker — the receipt for which was quoted in the "History of Chicago." That receipt was recognized by the commissioner and the deed was made directly to Mr. Peck.
Our citizens have all noticed the splendid drug store of J. H. Reed & Co., No. 144 Lake street. The day it was opened, Oct. 28, 1851, westood in front of the store conversing, with the owner of the building, Jeremiah Price, Esq. Pointing to one of the elegant windows, said Mr. Price, "I gave $100 in New York for that centre pane of French plate glass. That is exactly what I paid Mr. J. Noble for this lot, 80 feet front on a part of which the store stands, when I purchased it in 1833." That lot cannot now be bought for $64,000. Wolcott's Addition, on the North Side, was bought in 1830 for $130. It is now worth considerably over one and a quarter million of dollars. Walter L. Newberry, Esq., bought the 40 acres which forms his addition to Chicago, of Thos. Hartzell, in 1833, for $1,062. It is now worth half a million of dollars, and what is fortunate for Mr. Newberry he still owns by far the largest part of the property. So late as 1843 one half of Kinzie's addition, all of Wolcott's addition, and all of block 1, Original Town, were sold for $20,000. They are now worth, at a low estimate, $3,000,000. Any number of similar instances might, be given of the immense appreciation of real estate in Chicago.
The following table exhibits the total valuation of real and pergonal property in Chicago aa taken from the Assessor's books for a series of years. It must be remembered, however, that property is assessed at far below its real value:
The following shows the assessed value of the different kinds of property ior the last year. The lands are within the city limits; but are not yet divided into lots:
Personal property... 4,450,630
It will be noticed that the value of property has nearly doubled in the year 1853. — This fact corresponds very well with the increase of population, that being fifty seven per cent.
Churches.—We stated in our History that the Methodists were the pioneers among all religious sects in Chicago. They
Sresented here in 1831-2—3 by the veteran Missionary preacher, esse Walker. The first quarterly meeting was held here in the fall of 1833 in Watkin's school house. The building stood on the south-west corner of Clark and Old North Water streets. There were present at that meeting John Sinclair, presiding elder; Father Walker, missionary; William See and William Whitehead, local preachers; Chas. Wisencraft, Mrs. R. J. Hamilton and Mrs. Harmon. In the spring of 1834 the first regular class was formed. Father Walker had previously built a log courch at "the Point," which had been occupied for holding meetings for a year or two. Soon after the class was formed in the spring of 1834, a small frame church was built upon North Water street, between Dearborn and Clark streets. The lot on which the church now stands, corner of Clark and Washington streets, was purchased in 1836, and in the summer of 1838 the church was moved across the river on scows and placed upon the lot. It was enlarged several times to accomodate the increasing congregation. The present church was built in the summer of 1846.
The First Presbyterian is the oldest church in the city. It waa organized on the 26th of June, 1833, by its first pastor, Rev. Jeremiah Porter, now of (ireen Bay. Mr. Porter was chaplin of a detachment U. S. troops, who came here from Green Bay early in that year. When organized it consisted of twenty-five members of the Garrison. The names of the citizens who united with it were —John Wright, Philo Carpenter, Elders ; Rufus Brown, John S. Wright, J. H. Poor, Mrs. Elizabeth Brown, Mrs. Mary Taylor, Mrs. E. Clark, Mrs. Cynthia Brown.
Ten churches have since been organized in whole or in part from this church. It is now in a very flourishing condition under the pastoral care of Rev. H. Curtis.
The first Catholic church in Chicago was built by Rev. Mr. Schoffer, in the years 1833-4. It was located somewhere in State street. It now stands in the rear of St. Mary's Cathedral, and is used by the Sisters of Mercy as a school room. St, Mary's is the oldest Catholic church in the city. It was opened for divine service on the 25th of December, 1843. Its pastors then were Revds. Fischer and Saint Pailais, now Bishop of Vincennes. The house was completed by the late Bishop Quarter, and consecrated by him December 5th, 1845.
St. James is the oldest Episcopal church in the city, it was organized in 1834. The following were the first members: Peter Johnson, Mrs. P. Johnson, Mrs. Juliette A. Kinzie, [wife of J. A. Kinzie, Esq.,] Mrs. Frances W. Magie, Mrs. Nancy Hallam, Mrs. Margaret Helm.
The first Baptist church was organized by Rev. A. B. Freeman, on the 19th of October, 1833. The following were its first members; Rev. A. B. Freeman, S. T. Jackson, Martin D. Harmon, Peter More, Nath'l Carpenter, John K. Sargents, Peter Warden, Willard Jones, Ebon Crane, Samantha Harmon, Lucinda Jackson, Betsey Crane, Hannah C. Freeman, Susannah Rice.
The first church erected by this society was built on North Water street—the precise time we cannot give. In 1843-4 the society built a large brick house on the lot now owned by them on the south side of the public square. It was burnt down in October, 1852. A new church is now in process of erection which will cost at least $25,000.
The first Sunday School in Chicago was established by Philo Carpenter, Esq., and Capt. Johnson, in August, 1832. Mr. Carpenter, in company with G. W. Snow, Esq., arrived here ou the 30th of July, 1832. The school was first held in a frame, not then enclosed, which stood on ground a short distance northeast of the present residence of Mrs. John Wright on Michigan Avenue. It is now washed away. The school consisted of thirteen children. It was held during the fall of that year and.the next season, above the store of P6 F. W. Peck, Esq., at the south-west corner of Lasalle and Water streets. — Rev. Mr. Porter also preached in the same place. In the fall of 1832 Chas. Butler, Esq., of New York, presented the Sunday School with a library, and it soon increased to 40 or 50 members.
The first Congregational church was organized on the 22d of May, 1851, on the west side of the river.
The following is the present list of churches and ministers in Chicago:
Protestant Episcopal.—Trinity Church, Madison, near Clark Street, Rev. W. A. Smallwood, D. £)., Rector. St. James Church, corner of Cass ar d Illinois streets, R. H. Clarkson, Rector. Church of the Atonement, corner of Washington and Green strs., west side, Dudley Chase, Rector. St. Paul's Free Chapel, Sherman, near Harrison street, J.McNamara, Rector. Grace Church, corner of Dearborn and Madison streets, C. E. Swope, Rector. St. Ansgarius Church, corner of Indiana and Franklin streets, Gustavus Unonius, Rector.
Presbyterian.—First Presbyterian Church, corner of Clark and Washington streets, Harvey Curtis, Pastor. Second Presbyterian Church, corner of Wabash Avenue and Washington street, R. W. Patterson, Pastor. Third Presbyterian Church, Union street, between Randolph and Washington streets, west side, E. W.Moore, Pastor. North Presbyterian Church, corner of Illinois and Wolcot streets, north side, R. H. Richardson, Pastor. Reformed Presbyterian Church, Fulton street, corner of Clinton, west side, A. M. Stewart, Pastor.
Congregational. — First Congregational Church, Washington street, between Halsted and Union, west side. Plymouth Congregational Church, corner of Dearborn and Madison streets, N. H. Eggleston, Pastor. New England Church, corner of Wolcott and Indiana streets, J. C. Holbrook, Pastor. South Congregational Church. There is preaching regularly by Rev.E.F. Dickenson, at the Church near American Car Co.'s Works, at half past 10 o'clock, A. M., every Sabbath. Also, at 3 P. M., at the New Congregational Meeting House, corner of Clark and Taylor streets, near the Southern Michigan Railroad Depot.
Lutheran.—Norwegian Church, Superior, between Wells and Lasalle streets; Paul Andersen, Pastor. German Church, Lasalle, between Indiana and Ohio streets; J. A. Fisher, Pastor. German Church, Indiana street, near Wells; Augustus Selle, Pastor.
Baptist.—First Church, burned down, now worshipping in the old Presbyterian church, on Clark, near Madison St.; J. 0. Burroughs, Pastor. Tabernacle Church, Desplaines, between Washington and Madison streets, west side; A. Kenyon, Pastor. Salem Baptist Church, Clark street, between Jackson and Van Buren; J. R. Balme, Pastor.
Methodist Episcopal.—Clark Street Church, corner of Clark And Washington sts.; J. Clark, Pastor. Indiana Street Church, between Clark and Dearborn streets; S. Belles, Pastor. Jefferson Street Church, between Madison and Monroe strs., west side; E. H. Gammon, Pastor. Owen Street Church, corner of Owen and Peoria streets, west side; S. Guyer, Pastor. Clinton Street Church, between Polk and Taylor, west side. Harrison Street Church, near State street; F. A. Reed, Pastor. German Church, Indiana street, between Wells and Lasalle sts.; C. Winz, Pastor. German Church, Van Buren street, corner of Griswold; A. Kellener, Pastor.
Methodist Protestant.—Methodist Protestant Church, corner of Washington and Jefferson streets; Lewis R. Ellis, Pastor.
Catholic.—Cathedral of St. Mary's, corner of Madison street and Wabash Avenue; Patriek Thomas McElhearne and James Fitzgerald, Pastors. St. Patrick's Church, corner of Randolph and Desplaine streets; Patrick J. McLaughlin, Pastor. Holy Name Of Jesus Church, corner of Wolcott and Superior streets, north side; Jeremiah Kinsella, Pastor. St. Peter's Church, [German], Washington, between Franklin and Wells streets ; G. W. Plathe, Pastor. St. Joseph's Church, [German,] corner of Cass street and Chicago avenue, north side; Anthony Kopp, Pastor. St. Louis Church, [French] Clark, between Adams and Jackson St.; I. A. Lebel, Pastor. St. Michael's Church, eorner of North Av. and New Church street; E. Kaiser, Pastor. Church St. Francis Assisium, west side; J. B. Weicamp, Pastor.
JVew Jerusalem—Swedenborgian.—Place of worship, corner of Dearborn and Randolph streets; J. R. Hibbard, Pastor.
Unitarian.—Unitarian Church, north side of Washington St., between Clark and Dearborn; R. R. Shippen, Pastor.
Universalist.—Universalis Church, south side of Washington street, between Clark and Dearborn; L. B. Mason, Pastor.
Jewish Synagogue.—Clark street, between Adams & Quincy; 6. Schneidacher, Pastor.
Colleges, Schools, Jfcc.—The common Schools of Chicago are the pride and the glory of the city. The school fund is ample, and every child in the city can obtain the elements of a good English education free of charge. We have now six large public Bchool edifices, two in each division of the city. From three to seven hundred children are daily gathered in each.
Besides these we have a large number of private schools and seminaries where those who wish can educate their children.
We have an excellent Commercial College, at the head of which is Judge Bell. The Catholics have a college, and the Methodists are also about to establish and endow a University. We have also a most excellent Medical College.
The educational facilities of Chicago may therefore be regarded as of a very high order.
Banks, Banking, &c.—Had we space to write out the history of Banking in Illinois, and especially in Chicago, it would present some interesting topics for the contemplation of the financier. We have had two State Banks. The first was established early in the history of the State, and though the most extravagant expectations were entertained of its influence for good, its bills soon depreciated very rapidly, and for the want of silver change they were torn in several fragments and passed for fractions of a dollar. It soon became entirely worthless. The second State Bank was chartered by the session of the Legislature in the winter of 18345. In July of '35, it was determined to establish a branch here; but it was not opened till December of that year.—In the financial embarrassments of 1837, the bank stopped specie payment, but continued business till 1841, when it finally suspended. For the ten succeeding years, we had no banks of any kind in the State. These were dark days for Illinois. She annually paid banking institutions of other States immense sums of money in the shape of interest for all the currency she used.
Tire9 of this system, a general banking law, modeled after that of New York, was passed, and on the 3d of January, 1853, the Marine Bank in this city commenced business. The law is regarded as rather too stringent by our bankers, and hence they do not procure bills for a tithe of the capital they employ. The following table shows the number of banks in this city and the amount of bills they have in circulation: