페이지 이미지
PDF
ePub

SEA WALLS AT GOVERNORS ISLAND, NEW YORK HARBOR.

Officers of the Corps of Engineers in charge: Col. D. C. Houston, until May 18, 1893; Lieut. Col. H. M. Robert, since June 12, 1893, and First Lieut. T. H. Rees has been under the immediate orders of Col. Houston and Lieut. Col. Robert since April 5, 1893, except from May 18 to June 12, during which period he was temporarily in charge of work.

The project adopted in 1865 provided for inclosing the entire island by a sea wall. Under an allotment made in 1865 and other subsequent allotments and appropriations walls were built on the south, southeast, east, northwest, and west sides of the island, the latter being completed in March, 1892.

During the past fiscal year 397.35 linear feet of wall was built on the east side of the island to connect the previously built wall with the stone wharf. This completes the inclosure of the entire island. Rip. rap has also been purchased to protect the foundations of the sea walls, the masonry joints have been pointed, and a part of the embankment back of the north wall has been graded and sodded.

With the available funds additional riprap will be placed about the foundations, the pointing will be completed and the embankment close to the walls will be put in order.

This will complete the project for sea walls at this place and no further appropriations will be required at present. July 1, 1892, balance unexpendod.....

$13, 854. 11 Transferred from allotment for sea wall at Davids Island, New York 4,000.00

17, 851. 14 11, 222. 15

June 30, 1893, amount expended during fiscal year..
July 1, 1893, balance unexpended
July 1, 1893, outstanding liabilities
July 1, 1893, amount covered by uncompleted contracts.

[blocks in formation]

July 1, 1893, balance available

(See Appendix 5 B.)

WATER SUPPLY AND SEWERAGE SYSTEM AT FORT MONROE, VIRGINIA.

Officer in charge, Maj. Charles E. L. B. Davis, Corps of Engineers, with Lieut. George A. Zim, ('orps of Engineers, under his immediate orders; Division Engineer, Col. William P. Craighill, Corps of Engineers.

Water supply.The supply of water is dependent upon rain water stored in cisterns and water of interior quality brought across Mill Creek in iron pipes. The importance of an adequate supply of wholesome water within the limits of the fortification can hardly be overestimated. Six thousand dollars was appropriated by the act of February 24, 1891, but this amount was not deemed sufficient to sink a well to the depth which it is already shown must be exceeded to secure a supply of good water. A brief account of previous attempts at siuking artesian wells at this post and a résumé of information collected during the fiscal year are given in the report of the local officer, who recommends that an additional appropriation of $14,000 be made. July 1, 1892, balance unexpended...

$6,000.00 July 1, 1893, balance unexpended..

6,000.00 Amount (estimated) required for completion of existing project... 20,000.00 Amount that can be profitably expended in tiscal year ending June 30,1895 20,000.00

(See Appendix 6 A.)

Sewerage system.-Twenty-five thousand dollars was appropriated by the act of March 2, 1889, for a complete system of sewerage inside and outside of the fort. Bids received for this work showed that the appropriation was insuflicient for the purpose. October 29, 1891, the Secretary of War decided that two separate systems must be constructed, one by the United States and the other by the hotel proprie. tors and others enjoying the privilege of residence on the reservation. Estimates in accordance with this decision of the Secretary of War were submitted March 12, 1892, amounting to $15,000, and it was recommended that an appropriation of that sum be made for the sewerage system in lieu of the amount appropriated by the act of March 2, 1889. The numerous reports of the local otiicer in charge and of the commanding officers and post surgeons show the great and urgent need of this improvement.

During the fiscal year ending June 30, 1893, the subject of the sewerage of Fort Monroe, on account of the apprehended danger of a cholera epidemic, came up prominently, and a very voluminous official correspondence resulted therefrom, a résumé of which will be found in the report of the local officer.

September 28, 1892, the Secretary of War directed that a plan for the entire sewerage of the reservation, including military and nonmilitary residents, be submitted as soon as practicable, with estimates of cost of construction and schedules of distribution of cost and expense of running and maintenance. October 20, 1892, a plan was submitted for a joint system of sewerage for the entire reservation, at a total estimated cost of $75,000, with suggested regulations for the use of the system, estimated cost of maintenance and the draft of a bill for the preservation, repair, and maintenance of the system, with a project for apportioning the cost based upon the number of occupants of the vari. ous buildings. Owing to the failure of Congress to appropriate any additional money or to authorize by legislation the Secretary of War to assess the non military residents for their share of the cost of constructing a system, no work has been done, nor can any be attemptel. July 1, 1892, balance unexpended

$21, 902. 10 July 1, 1893, balance unexpended

21, 902. 10 Amount (estimated) required for completion of existing project

73, 000. (0) Amount that can be profitably expended in tiscal year ending June 30,1895. 75,000.00

(See Appendix 6 B.)

ESTIMATES OF APPROPRIATIONS REQUIRED FOR 1894-95.

For construction of gun and mortar batteries..
For construction of gun and mortar platforms
For purchase of land for fortifications..
For protection, preservation, and repair of fortifications.
For preparation of plans for fortifications
For protection of site of Fort Niagara, N. Y.
For sea walls and embankments...
For artesian well at Fort Monroe, Va
For construction of sewerage system at Fort Monroe, Va
For purchase of submarino mines and necessary appliances to operato

them for closing the channels leading to our principal seaports....
For needful casemates, cable galleries, etc., from which to operate sub-

marine mines

$1,629, 126

201,000 500.000 87, 000

5,000 10,000 31, 300 11,000 50,000

51, 550

50,000

2,692, 976

THE BOARD OF ENGINEERS.

The Board, as at present constituted, consists of the following officers of the Corps of Engineers: Col. Henry L. Abbot, Col C. B. Comstock, Lieut. Col. Henry M. Robert, and Lieut. Col. G. L. Gillespie.

The late Col. D. C. Houston served as a member of the Board to the date of his decease, May 18, 1893. He was replaced by Lieut Col. Robert.

Col. G. H. Mendell, Corps of Engineers, is also a member of the Board when it is acting upon matters pertaining to defensive works on the Pacific coast; and Col. W. P. Craighill, Corps of Engineers, is a member of the Board while it is considering a project for the defense of Baltimore, Md.

The Board has considered the various subjects referred to it during the past year by the Chief of Engineers, and the following is a brief summary of the reports rendered thereon:

1892, July 25. On angles of elevation and azimuth for 8, 10, and 12inch casemate carriages.

July 27. On the defense of Tybee Roads and the entrance of Savannah River.

August 5. On questions bearing on the improvement of the Harlem River inclosed by the Committee on Commerce, U. S. Senate, to the Secretary of War, June 30, 1892.

August 21. On design of Oliver W. Johnson for a turtle-back fort.

August 30. On estimate of Lieut. Col. P. C. Hains, Corps of Engineers, dated August 22, 1892, for the construction of a battery at Portland Head, Me.

August 30. On project of Maj. W. A. Jones, Corps of Engineers, dated August 8, 1892, for a navigable pass through Sand Lake Dam.

September 13. On plans of Lieut. Col. G. L. Gillespie, Corps of Engineers, for the construction of two counterscarp galleries for ditch defense of mortar battery at Sandy Hook, N. J.

September 24. On working drawings of Capt. W. H. Bixby, Corps of Engineers, for casemate and cable galleries for defense of Dutch Island Harbor, Rhode Island.

October 13. On plan of Lieut. J.G. Warren, Corps of Engineers, for construction of turntables to facilitate the handling of ammunition at Sandy Hook, N. J.

October 13. Recommending three sites at which available balances should be applied for mining casemates and their galleries.

October 18. Investigation and report on the subject of the storage of explosives in barges in New York Harbor.

October 19. On plans of the East River Bridge Company for construction of two bridges over the East River, New York.

October 20. Submitting working drawings of a platform for 12-inch mortars suited to receive the new spring-return carriage.

October 28. On the defense of Narragansett Bay.

November 5. On the application of the East River Bridge Company for the construction of two bridges across East River, New York.

November 12. On working drawings of Lieut. Col. s. M. Mansfield, Corps of Engineers, for constructing emplacement for battery at Long Island Head, Boston, Mass.

November 26. On retention of United States land in San Juan County, Washington, for military purposes.

November 28. On metal for hold down bolts for use in platforms for 12-inch mortars.

December 2. On report and estimates of Maj. T. II, Handbury, Corps of Engineers, for making surveys and maps of sites for detenses on the Pacific coast.

December 15. On an application for a lease of a portion of La Costa Island on the Gulf coast of Florida.

December 15. Drawings and estimates of emplacements for two 8 or 10-inch guns for the defense of New Orleans, La.

December 17. On paper of Capt. J. G. D. Knight, Corps of Engineers, relative to thickness of cover to resist projectiles.

December 30. On modification by Lieut. Col. P. C. Hains, Corps of Engineers, of his project for a breakwater from Mount Desert to Porcupine Island, Maine.

1893, February 27. Recommending localities at which six mining casemates and their cable galleries should be built.

March 3. On mining casemates at Great Hog Island, Maine.

April 29, May 9. On exact locations for mining casemates at Mobile, Ala., and Pensacola, Fla.

April 29. On the need of Martello towers at Fort Taylor, Key West, Fla., for defensive purposes.

April 29. On the defense of Charleston, S. O.

June 3. On sites for an 8-inch gun on a nondisappearing carriage, and for a 12-inch mortar at Fort Monroe, Va.

June 22. On sites for fortifications on Cushings Island, Portland Harbor, Maine, and the boundary of land to be acquired for such sites.

June 22. On the defense of Pensacola, Fla.

In the performance of the duties of the Board the following personal examinations were made:

1. Under the orders of the Chief of Engineers, dated February 7, 1893, the Board made an inspection of the defenses of Pensacola, Fla., and Mobile, Ala., on April 5 and 6, 1893, respectively.

2. In accordance with instructions contained in indorsement of the Chief of Engineers, dated February 25, 1893, a committee of the Board, consisting of Col. Henry L. Abbot and Lieut. Col. G. L. Gillespie, Corps of Engineers, accompanied by Capt. J. G. D. Knight, Corps of Engineers, made an inspection of Cushings Island, Portland, Me., on May 19, 1893, with a view to define the limits of the site to be purchased and the exact location of the proposed batteries,

3. Under the order of the Chief of Engineers, dated March 8, 1893, Cols. Abbot, Craighill, and Comstock, and Lieut. Col. Gillespie made an inspection of the defenses of Baltimore, Md., on June 13, 1893.

In addition to their duties with The Board of Engineers, the individual members of the Board have been otherwise engaged as follows:

1. Col. Henry L. Abbot, the president of the Board, concluded his duties in charge of certain experiments with torpedoes; and, as a member of the boards to fix harbor lives for the ports of Boston, Mass., and Oswego, N. Y., and to test the working mechanism of a 12inch gun lift constructed at Sandy Hook, N. J. He has continued as Division Engineer of the Northeast Division; as president of the board to establish harbor lines for the harbor of New York and its adjacent waters, and as a member of the Board of Ordnance and Fortification. He has also served as president of a board for the examination of officers of the Corps of Engineers, with a view to promotion; and under

instructions from the Chief of Engineers, dated July 30, 1892, has inspected the engineering works in charge of Lieut. Cols. Hains, Gillespie, Smith, Mansfield, and King, as well as those of the six district officers of the Northeast Division.

2. Col. C. B. Comstock has served as Division Engineer of the Southwest Division; as member of the Board of Visitors to the U. S. Engi. neer School; as president of the Mississippi River Commission; as member of the board to establish harbor lines for the harbor of New York and its adjacent waters; as member of the board to establish harbor lines for the port of Philadelphia; as a member of a board for the examination of officers of the Corps of Engineers with a view to promotion, and as member of a board of engineer officers on the im. provement of the Ohio River at Logstown Bar. He also represented the War Department at the Fifth International Congress of Iuternal Navigation at Paris, France.

3. Lieut. Col. Henry M. Robert became a member of The Board of Engineers June 12, 1893, under the provisions of paragraph 8, Special Orders No. 124, Headquarters of the Army, Adjutant General's Office, June 2, 1893, and is the disbursing officer of the Board. He has conducted the various works of river and harbor improvement and of fortifications under his charge, and is a member of the Board of Visitors to the U.S. Engineer School, and of the boards to consider and report upon

the harbor lines for New York Harbor and its adjacent waters, and Stamford Harbor, Conn. He also served as a member of the board of engineer officers to consider and report upon the proposed deepwater harbor at San Pedro or Santa Monica Bay, and exercised supervision over the construction of bridges across the Tennessee River at or near Knoxville, and at Johnsonville, Tenn.

4. Lieut. Col. G. L. Gillespie, in addition to conducting the various works of river and harbor improvement and of harbor defense, with which he was charged during the year, has continued to serve as a member of the Board of Visitors to the U. S. Engineer School, and as a member of the harbor line boards for the harbors of New York, and Stamford, Bridgeport, and Norwalk, Conn. He also seryed as disbursing officer of The Board of Engineers and as a member of the board of engineer officers to test the working mechanism of a 12-inch gun lift constructed at Sandy Hook, N. Y.

POST OF WILLETS POINT, N. Y.-UNITED STATES ENGINEER SCHOOL

BATTALION OF ENGINEERS-ENGINEER DEPOT.

Officer in command, Lieut. Col. W. R. King, Corps of Engineers.

POST OF WILLETS POINT, NEW YORK.

At the close of the fiscal year, the garrison consisted of 21 commissioned officers and 335 enlisted men, including officers and noncomissioned officers of the general staff, student officers, and enlisted men of the Hospital Corps. This is a loss of 3 officers and 18 enlisted men in strength over last year's report.

During the year repairs and improvements have been made to roads, sidewalks, buildings, and sewerage.

The new guardhouse and repairs to quartermaster's wharf have been completed, the two barrack buildings are nearing completion, and a third has been authorized.

ENG 93-2

« 이전계속 »