« 이전계속 »
The most important improvements still unprovided for are a quartermaster and commissary storehouse near the wharf, the cleaning out of the ditch bounding the Government lands on tie southwest, the walling in of the ice pond, and the lighting of the post by electricity.
The drill, discipline, instruction, and sanitary condition of the garri. son have been satisfactory and compare favorably with the attainments of former years as shown by the comparative statement in Appendix.
UNITED STATES ENGINEER SCHOOL.
During the year, 4 engineer officers and 7 infantry officers completed the course, and 1 cavalry, 2 artillery, and 1 infantry officer, who have completed the laboratory duty, are still engaged in the practice work of planting and operating torpedoes, which will be completed October 1, 1893.
All have manifested intelligence and interest in the work and are entitled to certificates of proficiency in one or more of the branches they have been studying and practicing.
BATTALION OF ENGINEERS.
The legal strength of the Battalion of Engineers is 5 companies of 150 men each, with a sergeant-major and a quartermaster sergeant, and is officered by details from the commissioned officers of the corps.
The present strength is 18 officers and 418 enlisted men.
The authorized strength of companies A, B, and C, which are stationed at Willets Point, is 133 men each, and of Company E, stationed at West Point, N. Y., 100 men.
The total losses from all causes during the year have been 154, and the total gain 135, making a loss of 19 mei.
The battalion has been employed during the year at engineer, pontoon and torpedo drills, infantry drills, ritle practice, photography, and Company E, at West Point, has assisted in the instruction of cadets in military engineering and pontoon drill.
The fireproof storehouse referred to in last report has been completed and occupied with pontoon, siege, and torpedo materials and appliances. It is recommended that the balance of the appropriation for this build ing, $2,931.21, be applied to the establishment of an electric-light plant, for lighting the public buildings, using such surplus machinery and materials as are now available and suitable for the purpose.
The small steam tug built for planting torpedoes has been completed and fitted out with the necessary hoisting machinery and tackle, and is now in use.
An additional concrete tank for storing torpedo cable has been completed, ready for the reception of the new supply of cable recently contracted for.
The depot property, such as astronomical and surveying instruments, pontoon, siege, and torpedo materials, has been cared for and the purchases, receipts, and issues have been made in the usual manner.
Experiments have been continued with the Sims-Edison torpedo, and tests have been made of explosives, building materials, etc.
STATEMENT OF FUNDS.
Congress has at various times appropriated as follows: 1. For engineer depot at Willets Point, N. Y., for the tiscal year ending June 30, 1893, the amount of .
$15,000.00 Expended and pleulged..
15, 000.00 2. For engineer depot at Willets Point, N. Y. (no limit), for fireproof storehouse, the amount of..
16, 000.00 July 1, 1893, balance available.
2,931. 21 3. For torpedoes for harbor defense, act September 22, 1888: July 1, 1892, balance unexpended.
5, 088.33 July 1, 1893, balance available.
5,000.00 4. For torpedoes for harbor defense, act March 2, 1889: July 1, 1892, balance unexpended.
54, 875. 45 July 1, 1893, balance available
16, 589.27 5. For torpedoes for harbor defense, act of August 18, 1890: July 1, 1892, balance unexpended.
26, 736.35 July 1, 1893, balance available....
24, 598. 85 6. For torpedoes for harbor defense, act February 24, 1891: July 1, 1892, balance unexpended
833. 70 July 1, 1893, balance available
83. 70 7. For torpedoes for harbor defense, acts March 2, 1889, and August 18,
1890 (reallotment for purchase of submarine cable):
74, 961. 12 July 1, 1893, balance available
32, 4 10.32 8. For engineer depot at Willets Point, N. Y., for the fiscal year ending June 30, 1894...
11, 000.00 There will be required for the fiscal year ending June 30, 1895, for the engineer depot at Willets Point, N. Y., the following, viz: 1. For incidental expenses of depot..
$5,000.00 2. For purchase of materials for instruction of battalion
3, 500.00 3. For purchase and repair of instruments.....
3,000.00 4. For purchase and binding of professional works for libury
12,000.00 (See Appendix No. 7.)
RIVER AND HARBOR IMPROVEMENTS.
The funds with which the works for the improvement of rivers and harbors were prosecuted during the last fiscal year were derived from the appropriations by the river and harbor act approved July 13, 1892, and appropriations in the sundry civil acts approved August 5, 1892, and March 3, 1893, for certain works on account of which contracts were to be made for completion as provided in the acts of September 19, 1890, and July 13, 1892, and such balances of foriner appropriations as were available.
A brief statement derived from the reports of the officers in charge of the several works hereinafter given sets forth the condition of each improvement, the extent of work performed during the last fiscal year, the amount expended, and estimate of amount required for its com. pletion.
Section 2 of the river and barbor act approved March 2, 1867, requires that the Secretary of War shall annually submit to Congress a full estimate for the entire and permanent completion of each river and harbor work, and of the amonnt that can be profitably expended on each uncompleted work in the next fiscal year.
Reports are appended of the work accomplished in the removal of wrecks obstructing or endangering navigation, as provided for in section 4 of the river and harbor act approved June 14, 1880, and enlarged by provision in the river and harbor act of August 2, 1882,
Under the authority given to the Secretary of War in section 12 of the river and harbor act approved September 19, 1890, harbor lines have been established at localities indicated further on in this report.
Examinations were made, whenever required by the committees of Congress, of proposed bills authorizing the construction of bridges upon which the views of the War Department were desired. Of the bills so examined, 13 originated in the Senate and 32 in the lIouse of Representatives.
During the fiscal year examinations were made of such plans and locations as were submitted by parties interested of bridges proposed to be built over navigable waters subject to the approval of the Secretary of War, as authorized by acts of Congress. A brief statement is given of the action had in such cases.
Under sections 4 and 5 of the river and harbor act approved September 19, 1890, persons, corporations, or associations owning or controlling bridges over navigable waterways of the United States, which are unreasonable obstructions to the free navigation of such waters, after being given a reasonable opportunity to be heard, have been notified to so alter the bridges as to render navigation through or under them reasonably free, easy, and unobstructed. In each case the changes required to be made were specitied in the notice, and reasonable time was prescribed in which to make them. A detailed statement of the cases is given further on in this report.
Reports made in compliance with the requirements of section 2 of the river and harbor act of July 5, 1884, and section 4 of that of August ), 1886, of instances in which piers, breakwaters, or other works built by the United States in aid of commerce or navigation are used, occupiedi, or injured by a corporation or an individual, will be found in Appendix A A A.
The engineering works in the charge of this office are arranged in five divisions, and officers of the corps assigned as division engineers to overlook the works, as follows:
West of the Rocky Mountains: Pacific Division, Col. George H. Mendell. East of the Rocky Mountains: Northeast Division, Col. Henry L. Abbot; Southeast Division, Col. Wm. P. Craighill; Southwest Division, Col. Cyrus B. Comstock; Northwest Division, Col. Orlando M. Poe.
South Pass of the Mississippi River.-During the fiscal year ending June 30, 1893, the legal channel was maintained through the jetties at the mouth of the Pass; but during a period of twenty-six days (May 27 to June 20, inclusive, and June 30) such channel did not obtain through the Pass itself, and for 14 days (June 5 to June 18, inclusive) such channel did not exist through the shoal at the head of South Pass.
Rules and regulations for the use of canals.-The act of Congress approved September 26, 1888, authorized the Secretary of War to prescribe proper rules and regulations for the administration, and use by the public, of the Des Moines Rapids Canal, the St. Marys Falls Canal, the Louisville and Portland Canal, and the St. Clair Flats Canal, and provided penalties for willful violation of such rules. Similar legislation was enacted by acts of August 11, 1888, and September 19, 1890, applying to the South Pass of the Mississippi River and the Des Moines Rapids Dry Dock.
It is desirable that similar authority should be granted to the Secretary of War with respect to all the canals owned and operated by the Government, and that the willful violation of such rules as may be prescribed should be declared a misilemeanor, and penalties therefor be provided. The need of rules to govern the use and navigation of these
works, and of adequat provision for their enforcement, applies alike to all the canals. Express legislation in some cases indicates that Congressional action is necessary in all cases for the suficient and proper enforcement of whatever rules the Secretary of War may promulgate, and difficulty has already arisen from the lack of authority to enforce rules and regulations prescribed for the use of canals not embraced in existing enactments.
The following draft of an act similar in its provisions to the acts above referred to, and applying to all United States canals and similar works of navigation, is proposed and urgently recommended for passage by Congress:
AN ACT providing for the establishment and enforcement of rules and regulations for the use and
navigation of United States canals and similar works of navigation. Be it enacted by the Senate and House of Representatires of the United States of America in Congress assembled, That it shall be the duty of the Secretary of War to prescribe such rules and regulations for the use, administration, and navigation of any or all canals and siunilar works of navigation that now are, or that hereafter may be, owned, operated, or maintained by the United States as in his judgment the public necessity may require.
SEC. 2. That such rules and regulations shall be posted, in conspicuous and appropriate places, for the information of the public; and every person and every corporation which shall knowingly and willfully violate such rules and regulations, shall be deemed guilty of a misdemeanor, and on conviction thereof, in any district court in the United States within whose territorial jurisdiction such otiense may have been committed, shall be punished by a fine not exceeding five hundred dollars, or by imprisonment (in the case of a natural person) not exceeding six months, in the discretion of the court.
ATLANTIC COAST AND GULF OF MEXIC O.
IMPROVEMENT OF RIVERS AND HARBORS IN
This district was in the charge of Lieut. Col. Peter C. Hains, Corps of Engineers.
1. St. Croix River, Maine.-An examination and survey of the St. Croix River were made under the provisions of the river and harbor act of August 11, 1888, and the reports on same were published in the Annual Report of the Chief of Engineers for 1890 (page 463). The available depth, at mean low water, over the shoals was found to be from 6.5 to 9.5 feet, and in the upper part of the harbor, at Calais, but 1.5 feet. The channel was also narrow. In the report on the survey it was proposed to obtain a channel 12 feet deep at mean low water, with a general width of 200 feet, but narrowed to 150 and 100 feet at the upper end. Such an improvement would enable steamboats to reach landings at the upper end of the barbor, and would allow large lumber vessels to fully load at the wharves instead of having to drop downstream about 4 miles to complete their cargoes.
An appropriation of $35,000 was made by act approved September 19, 1890, coupled with the proviso “that the government of the Dominion of Canada shall expend a like sum in the improvement of said river."
No work has yet been done, pending action by the Dominion government, and none
of the appropriation has been expended. July 1, 1892, balance unexpended.
$35,000.00 July 1, 1893, balance unexpended.
35,000.00 Amount (estimated) required for completion of existing project...... 245,000.00 Submitted in compliance with requirements of sections 2 of river aud
harbor acts of 1866 anı1867. (See Appendix A 1.)
2. Lubec Channel, Vaine. This channel lies between the eastern extremity of the State of Maine and Campobello Island, Dominion of Canada.
Originally the channel was but 5 feet in depth at mean low water, and but 2 feet at low water of spring tides.
The project, adopted in 1879, and subsequently moditied, was for a channel 275 feet wide, 300 feet wide in the bends, and 12 feet deep at mean low water.
The expenditures to June 30, 1892, amounted to $168,954.42.
At the close of the fiscal year 1891 the project had been practically completed, and no work has been done since.
Under the provisions of the river and harbor act of September 19, 1890, an examination of Lubec Channel was made, and the report was published in the Annual Report of the Chief of Engineers for 1891 (page 616). July 1, 1892, balance unexpended
$15. 58 July 1, 1893, balance unexpended
45. 58 (See Appendix A 2.)
3. Moosabec Bar, Maine. Before the improvement was commenced the entrance at the eastern end of Moosabec Reach was difficult, the channel being crooked, with ledges on either hand. The direct entrance was obstructed by a bar on which the depth was only about 6 feet at mean low water.
The project, adopted in 1881, provided for a channel 14 feet deep at mean low water, and not less than 200 feet wide, through the bar at the eastern entrance to the reach. In 1888 the project was extended to provide for widening the 14 foot channel to 300 feet, for removal of ledges obstructing the channel, and for the construction of a small breakwater to divert cross currents.
The expenditures to June 30, 1892, were $60,418.77. At the latter date the 300-foot channel had been completed to the full projected width and depth, the breakwater had been built, and a small quantity of ledge had been removed.
The expenditures during the past year amounted to $374.88. A contract was made December 23, 1892, for excavating ledge obstructing the western approach to the dredged channel. The depth over the ledge is to be made 16 feet at mean low tide, and the present contract covers the excavation of about 1,000 cubic yards, measured in place. The contractor began work about the 1st of June, 1893; at the close of the fiscal year 1893 the work was not sufficiently advanced to be of practical benefit to commerce.
The benefits derived from the improvement are not local, the thoroughfare being extensively used by coastwise vessels, both as a harbor of refuge and as a sheltered route. July 1, 1892, balance unexpended..
$9, 581.23 Amount appropriated by act approved July 13, 1892
24, 581. 23
June 30, 1893, amount expended during fiscal year....
July 1, 1893, balance available