페이지 이미지
PDF
ePub

Hager is called the most honest and best saddler and harness

maker in the county.

The first mercantile establishment in Clinton was opened by John and Benjamin Whitcomb, in whose store could be had almost anything from a Jews-harp to a barrel of salt, for specialties were unknown in those days, and merchants were obliged to keep a general assortment.

The first post office was established here and conducted by David Patton as postmaster. And here, upon the arrival of the United States mail, which was usually carried by a dare-devil boy, mounted upon a raw-boned, knock-kneed specimen of a horse, the hardy pioneers gathered in anxious groups, to hear the news from the outer world, and greedily they drank in each item of interest; for in those days the long intervals between mails, often more than a month, made men hungry for news.

The first mill was built by John Beard about the year 1819 or 1820, on Brouillets Creek, near the present site of Mr. Nebeker's mill. Beard also kept the first public house in Clinton. Religious services had heretofore been held at the houses of the settlers, but in 1831 the Presbyterians built the first church, a substantial structure, which, however, is now used for other

purposes.

Among the farming and stock raising citizens of this Wabash valley it is our special duty, perhaps, to speak a few extra words of Mr. Claude Matthews, whose Hazel Bluff farm some three miles from Clinton, on the waters of Brouillets Creek, contains the largest stock investment of any other farm on the Wabash. The residence of Mr. Matthews is situated on a commanding bluff overlooking the broad valley of Brouillets Creek, which borders the southern line of his lands, and presents as fine and picturesque a bottom view as we have seen in the State. The entire lands of Mr. Matthews—some two thousand acres—are rich in soil, abundant in coal and well wooded with white-oak, sugar tree, hickory and walnut. He has about five hundred acres of his bottom lands in cultivation. His chief attention, however, for several years, has been given to the raising of blooded stock of the Short Horn and Bluff Ardric Breeds. His stock has so increased on his hands that during the present month he has a grand sale of his blooded animals which will call hundreds of purchasers to his farm from all parts of the West. Though not over thirty, Mr. Matthews has already shown himself to be a thorough business man and capable of the largest enterprises. Cool and cautious, plausible and of the highest moral integrity, he makes no pretensions he can not fullfil, and never asks for favors from friend or foe. He is a valuable citizen in this community, and is every year becoming more uistinguished for his honorable dealings and generous hospitalities.

Among the distinguished citizens of this township we may name commendably, H. A. White and William O. Washburn, Esqs., as having represented this county in the Legislature of the State.

Walter G. Crabb was born in Fayette county, Ohio, and came to this locality in 1824. He lives on his farm three miles from Clinton.

Some years ago Miriam G. Towsley erected a large frame edisice in Clinton and opened a military institute, but from some cause the enterprise proved a failure. The building is now used as a boarding house. The genius of many men leads them to

enterprises ahead of their times. The present prospects of Clinton would now tell another story.

There are in the township two fine substantial bridges. One at Chum's Ford, built by J. J. Daniels, is a covered bridge. The length of span is 150 feet, and the abutments are of stone. Cost $10,000. The other, at Spangler's Ford, 110 feet long, is similar in construction, was built by the same party, and cost

$8,500.

SCHOOLS.

By report of School Trustee we find that there are in Clinton township ten school houses, valued at $8,100; number of pupils enrolled-male 326, female 310—total 636; number attending school during the year 560; daily average attendance 300; length of school term seven months; number of teachers-male 10, female 4-total 14; average daily compensation of teachers, $2.43; voting population of township 521.

Public School, of Clinton ; valuation of property, $3000 ; number of scholars enrolled, 239-males, 125, females, 114; average daily attendance, 140; number of teachers, 3; P. Z. Anderson, School Trustee.

CHURCHES.

M. E. Church, Clinton; membership, 75 ; pastor in charge, Rev. John E. Newhouse ; Sabbath school superintendent, B. F. Morey; average attendance 75 ; value of church property $2,500; parsonage $2,000.

Centenary Methodist Church, situated four and one-half miles west of Clinton; membership of church, 40; pastor in charge, John E. Newhouse ; class leader, John Darby; stewards, Abraham Jenkins, Franklin Shew; superintendent Sabbath school, Amon Dowdy.

Bethel United Brethren Church, situated five miles southwest of Clinton; valuation of property, $1,800; membership of church, 70; pastor in charge, Rev. Zeller; superintendent of Sabbath school, Levi Wright; average attendance, 40.

Presbyterian Church, Clinton; value of church property, $2,000; pastor in charge, Rev. Thomas Griffith; membership, 40; superintendent of Sabbath school, Wm. Campbell; average attendance, 70.

Union Class of the United Brethren Church; situated 612 miles southwest of Clinton; membership, 63; pastor in charge, Rev. Zellers; Superintendent Sabbath school, Peter Wilhoit; average attendance of school, 40.

Hazel Bluff Sabbath School, situated three miles south of west of Clinton ; superintendent, William Wright; Claude Matthews, secretary; average attendance of school, 35.

Spangler's Sabbath School, situated northwest of Clinton; Melory Hedges, superintendent; average attendance, 35; number of classes, 4; teachers, 4; Charles Runyan, secretary.

LODGES.

Jerusalem Lodge, No. 99, F. and A. M., Clinton ; membership 50; charter members-Sylvester Redfield, John N. Per: kins, Hiram Barnes, John R. Whitcomb, Benj. R. Whitcomb, William S. Price, James Gazsoway, James McCulloch, Nathan Sidwell, J. J. Moore, and William Barrick. Value of Lodge property, $300. Charter granted May 29, 1850.

Council No. 3, Sovereigns of Industry, Clinton; membership 27; organized May 5, 1874; number of charter members 25 ; officers-James A. Greenwalt, President; David McBeth, Vice President; J. C. Campbell, Secretary; T. Victor, Treasurer ; S. B. Blackledge, Lecturer; J. C. Hall, Steward; D. Moore, Inside Guard. James A. Greenwalt is the Deputy President, authorized to organize Lodges in the county.

Clinton Grange, No. 971, P. of H.; organized June 4, 1874; Master, Aquilla Nebeker; Secretary, C. B. Knowles; Overseer, J. E. Knowles; Lecturer, J. B. Hedges; Steward, Wm. Wright; Asst. Steward, J. E. Ryan; Lady Asst. Steward, E. E. Knowles; Chaplain, B. F. Morey; Treasurer, G. B. Sparks; Ceres, P. S. Knowles; Pomona, Bettie Blandford; Flora, Sophia Ryan.

Social Grange, No. 1574; situated 43 m west of Clinton; membership, 70; organized March 2, 1874; Amon Dowdy, Master; H. W. Curry, Secretary.

Union Grange, No. 1575; situated 672 miles southwest of Clinton; membership, 45; organized March 3, 1874; James Bumgardner, Master; Wm. H. Julian, Secretary.

Amant Lodge, No. 356, I. 0. O. F.; Clinton; membership, 50; value of property, $250; organized September 30, 1871; James A. Greenwalt, Secretary:

Crusader's Lodge of Good Templars, No. 816; Clinton; membership, 65; organized May 1, 1874; William Campbell, Secretary.

DIRECTORY OF CLINTON TOWNSHIP.

Born in Ohio

Ackerman, Justics; farmer; 334 m n e Clinton.

1841; settled in V. C. 1851. Dem.

Amerman, James; farmer; 5 m n w Clinton. Born in Ind. 1831;

settled in V. C. 1843. United Brethren.

Born in Va. 1837; set

Anderson, N. C.; merchant; Clinton.

tled in V. C. 1853. Rep.

« 이전계속 »