« 이전계속 »
The newspapers of Boston announced on Saturday, Oct. 21, 1786, that, the Thursday previous being “the anniversary of the capture of Lord Cornwallis and a British army, the new company of Independent Cadets, commanded by Col. Bradford, made their first public parade" in Boston. On this occasion, the governor presented the company with a standard, “bearing on one side his Excellency's arms, and, on the reverse, those of the company, with the thirteen stripes on each, upon a ground of white.”
Dr. John Warren was the first recorded surgeon of the Ancient and Honorable Artillery Company. He was a son of Joseph Warren, Jr., of Roxbury, a brother of Gen. Joseph Warren, and was born July 27, 1753. The homestead was on Warren Street, on Warren Place, opposite St. James Street. An elegant stone building, with a suitable inscription, now occupies this site. He married, Nov. 2, 1777, Abigail Collins, of Newport, R. I. He attended the Roxbury Grammar School, entered Harvard College in July, 1767, and graduated four years later. After graduation he began the study of medicine under his brother, Dr. Joseph Warren. In 1773, Dr. John Warren established himself at Salem, and practised his profession On the 19th of April, 1775, the regiment of that town marched to Lexington, and Dr. Warren accompanied it as its surgeon. He kept a journal, especially interesting in its record of events in and around Boston during the early part of the Revolutionary War. Dr. John Warren had a portion of the care in administering to the wounded in the battle of Bunker Hill, and was appointed a hospital surgeon by Washington, during the siege of Boston. He took part in the campaign on Long Island, and was in the battles of Trenton and Princeton. In 1777, he was appointed superintending surgeon of the military hospitals in Boston, — a position which he occupied until peace was declared. In 1780 and 1781, he delivered, by request, medical lectures in a military hospital then situated on the corner of the present Milton and Spring streets, and a third course, in 1782, was delivered at the Molineux House, on Beacon Street. Dr. Warren drew up, in the summer of 1782, a plan for a medical institution, to be connected with Harvard University, which was adopted by the corporation, Sept. 19, 1782, and Dr. Warren was elected, Nov. 22, 1782, professor of anatomy and surgery in that institution. He was, therefore, the founder of the medical school, which forms one of the present departments of Harvard University.
In 1784, he established the hospital at Point Shirley. In the same year, he was elected president of the Massachusetts Medical Society, and was also president of the Massachusetts Humane and Agricultural Societies. He delivered the first Fourth of July oration before the citizens of the town of Boston, July 4, 1783.
May 2, 1780, Dr. John Warren became a member of The Massachusetts Lodge, A. F. and A. M. Having held minor offices in that Lodge, he became its master, and, after faithful service in the Grand Lodge of Massachusetts, was elected in that body Grand Master of Masons in Massachusetts. He held this office in 1783, 1784, and 1787, and was re-elected in 1794, but declined to accept it. He died April 4, 1815, at his residence on School Street.
Dr. John Warren. AUTHoRITIES: Life of John fore the Grand Lodge of Mass.; Loring's One Warren, by his son, Edward Warren; Eulogies on Hundred Boston Orators; Medical Men of the John Warren, by Dr. James Jackson, before the Revolution, p. 30. Mass. Med. Society, and by Dr. Josiah Bartlett, be
The officers of the Artillery Company elected in 1787 were: John Brooks 1787. (1786), captain; Josiah Waters (1769), lieutenant, and Ebenezer Torrey (1765), ensign. William Todd, Jr. (1773), was first sergeant; John Johnston (1786), second sergeant; Francis Green (1786), third sergeant; Thomas Wells (1786), fourth sergeant, and John Winslow (1786), clerk. About sunset, on Friday evening, April 20, 1787, a fire broke out in a malt-house, near the Liberty Pole, at the South End. It was the greatest that had occurred in the town since 1760. About one hundred buildings were destroyed, including one meetinghouse and fifty dwellings. It burned on both sides of Orange, now Washington, Street, and the houses of several members of the Artillery Company were consumed. In 1787, and for some years afterward, Benjamin Lincoln (1786) was major-general in command of the First Division of Massachusetts Volunteer Militia, and John Brooks (1786) was major-general in command of the Third Division. April 7, 1787, an independent company of cavalry, called the Governor's Horse Guard was formed, Col. James Swan being elected commander. They made their first public appearance in uniform (red, faced with blue), June 21, 1787. May 25, 1787, the Republican Volunteers, under the command of Major Bartlett (1769), appeared in complete uniform for the first time. This company was instituted the 17th of November preceding. Their uniform was red, faced with black. June 16, the governor presented the Volunteers with a standard. Their second commander was Capt. Lemuel Gardner (1787), who was unanimously chosen in August, 1787. The members of the Artillery Company recruited in 1787 were: William Bird, William Call, Benjamin Cobb, Jr., William Dall, Phineas Dana, John Fenno, Lemuel Gardner, John Green, David Hatch, Peter Parker, William Shattuck, Ezra Whitney, Jeremiah Williams.
William Bird (1787), innkeeper, of Boston. He was published to marry Polly Bayley, Nov. 24, 1784. Mr. Bird (1787) was adjutant of the Suffolk County Brigade Train of Artillery in 1784, captain of Ward 12 military company, in Boston, in 1787, was commissioned major in the Boston regiment, in March, 1788, and was first sergeant of the Artillery Company in 1788.
The directory of Boston for 1796 gives “William Bird, innkeeper, Washington Street.” “Bird's Tavern, so called in 1796, known in Revolutionary times as Edward Richardson's, and afterward as Bellow's, still stands in the angle formed by the intersection of Belmont Street with the old Watertown road. It was the hiding-place where the colony cannon and intrenching tools were concealed. It was also a favorite resort for Burgoyne's officers on account of the cockpit on the other side of the road. The faculty of Harvard College ate their annual dinner there for many years.” "
William Call (1787), baker, of Charlestown, son of Richard and Mary (King) Call, of Charlestown, was born Feb. 27, 1732–3. He followed the trade of his father. In 1760 he bought of Jonathan Bradish the bakehouse in which his father, who died in 1756, had done his business, but he subsequently moved to Boston. He was a brother of Capt. Nathaniel Call (1774). Capt. William Call (1787) was living in Boston in 1782.
William Bird (1787). Authority: Boston 'Saturday Evening Gazette, 1886, “Taverns in Records. Olden Times, No. 5.” William Call (1787). Authority: Wyman's Genealogies and Estates of Charlestown.
Benjamin Cobb, Jr. (1787), distiller, of Boston, son of Benjamin and Bethia (Homer) Cobb, was born in Yarmouth, Mass., and was published, November, 1780, to marry Lucy Jackson. His distillery was on “Orange Street; house, Washington Street.”. Benjamin Cobb, Jr.'s (1787), mother was a niece of Michael Homer (1768).
Mr. Whitman (1810) says of Mr. Cobb (1787), he was “admitted a member of the church while young, and was a worthy, industrious, and respectable man, having a large family.” He never held any office in the Artillery Company.
William Dall (1787), merchant, of Boston, son of William and Elizabeth Dall, was born in Boston, Dec. 22, 1753, and he died Sept. 18, 1829. He was published, Jan. 17, 1781, to marry Mary Parker, of Boston. He is given in the Boston Directory of 1796 as “shop-keeper, Orange Street; house, Washington Street.” He never held any office in the Artillery Company. He was identified with the militia, and held the grade of captain.
Phineas Dana (1787).
John Fenno (1787), “cordwainer, leather-bucket maker, and maker of hose for engines and West India use,” on Orange Street, son of John and Hannah, his wife, was born in Boston, May 4, 1732. He was clerk of the Artillery Company in 1788.
John Fenno (1787) joined the Old South Church, Jan. 5, 1772, and became a member of The Massachusetts Lodge, A. F. and A. M., May 2, 1774. He visited Massachusetts Grand Lodge in 1773 and 1779.
Lemuel Gardner (1787), cooper, of Boston, was published to marry Deborah Humphreys, of Weymouth, July 9, 1777. He became a member of the Old South Church, April 7, 1782. Capt. Gardner (1787) was second sergeant of the Artillery Company in 1790, ensign in 1792, lieutenant in 1799, and its captain in 1803. In 1789, his cooper's shop was on Garoner's Wharf, and his residence on Fish, now North, Street. He was one of the contributors, June 18, 1792, towards purchasing a new bell for the New Brick Society. The bell bore this inscription, “The First Church Bell cast in Boston, 1792, by P. Revere.”
“He lived at a time of prosperity among mechanics in Boston, who, earning their money easy, lived generously. He belonged to a set, very hospitable, whose sideboards were loaded with plate, and who brought up their families in expensive style. They were enterprising, ready to promote all public improvements, firm friends, carried a great sway in public, sung good songs, and seldom had a heavy heart or felt want.”
He was elected captain of the Independent Corps of Republican Volunteers in August, 1787. His brother, Joshua, Jr., joined the Artillery Company in 1798.
John Green (1787) was born in 1759. He was published to marry Rebecca Gorden, “forbid by her mother,” Dec. 16, 1777. He died at Cambridgeport, Mass., June 24, 1826, aged sixty-seven years.
Benjamin Cobb, Jr. (1787). AUTHORITIEs: John Fenno (1787). Authorities: Boston Boston Records; Bridgman's Mem, of King's Chapel Records; Early Masonic Records. Burial-Ground. Lemuel Gardner (1787). AUTiiorities: Bos
William Dall (1787). AUTilok I Y: loston ton Records; Whitman's I list. A. and II. A. ComRecords. pany, 2d Ed. .