« 이전계속 »
Hutchinson (1694), Hon. Adam Winthrop (1694), Hon. Ezekiel Lewis (1707), and Hon. Jacob Wendell (1733).
The members of the Artillery Company recruited in 1738 were: John Daniel, Joseph Edwards, Jacob Emmons, Samuel Haley, Joseph Jackson, Arthur Savage, William Taylor, and Sendall Williams.
John Daniel (1738), a tanner, son of William and Dorothy Daniel, was born in Boston, Nov. 6, 17oo. He married, (1) Elizabeth , in 1726; (2) Mary, “the only daughter of Thomas Clark,” (published) Oct. 26, 1728.
He was a member of the First Church in Boston, but on the organization of the West Church, Jan. 3, 1736–7, he became one of the seventeen original members. He was an owner of real estate in Charlestown. Mr. Wyman, in “Genealogies and Estates of Charlestown,” gives Mr. Daniel's (1738) residence as in Boston.
Joseph Edwards (1738), goldsmith, of Boston, son of John (1699) and Civell (Sibell) (Sivill) Edwards, and brother of Capt. Thomas Edwards (1724), was born in Boston, June 11, 1707. His nephew, John, Jr., joined the Artillery Company in 1747. He probably lived in or near his father's house on Cornhill, as, in 1733, April 18, he was assessed eight shillings for repairing the pump in Cornhill. He held town office from 1746 to 1752 inclusive, and was second sergeant of the Artillery Company in 1742, and ensign in 1754. In the provincial militia he attained the rank of captain.
Jacob Emmons (1738), probably son of “Jacob Emms and Mary, his wife,” was born in Boston, May 16, 17o 1. He married Mary in 1727.
He held office in the town of Boston in 1740, 1743, and 1745. At a meeting of the selectmen, June 6, 1744, “Voted, that Mr. Jacob Emmons  be prosecuted for receiving one Eliza Wormwood into his house from Lynn and not informing thereof as the law directs.” He was third sergeant of the Artillery Company in 1742.
Samuel Haley (1738), son of “William and Sarah Healey [Haley],” was born in Boston, Sept. 11, 1715.
He served as a constable of Boston in 1753, and resided at “the South End,” on “Orange Street.” He was a member of the Boston militia, and was promoted to the rank of lieutenant.
Joseph Jackson (1738), distiller, of Boston, was born in 1707, and married, May 1, 1732, Susannah Gray. They were the parents of Col. Henry Jackson. Joseph Jackson (1738) was fourth sergeant of the Artillery Company in 1742, ensign in 1746, lieutenant in 1749, and captain in 1752. He succeeded Col. Phillips (1725) as treasurer of the Artillery Company in 1763, and continued in that office until the Revolution. He was a member of the Masonic Fraternity; he attended the installation ceremony at Concert Hall, Oct. 1, 1755, when Jeremy Gridley, Esq., was installed as grand master of Masons in North America, and walked in the Masonic procession, as grand treasurer, at the interment of the remains of M. W. Jeremy Gridley, Sept. 12, 1767.
Joseph Edwards (1738). AUThority: Bos- ords of Boston Selectmen, 1752–1772; Hill's Hist.
ton Records. of Old South Church; Drake's Hist. of the Society Jacob Emmons (1738). AUTHoRITY: Bos- of the Cincinnati; New Eng. Hist. and Gen. Reg., ton Records. 1892; Whitman's Hist. A. and H. A. Company,
Joseph Jackson (1738). Authorities: Rec- Ed. 1842.
He was prominently identified with the militia, being captain for several years (1752–8) of a Boston company; became major of the Boston regiment in 1758, and was its colonel from 1761 to 1766. He served as selectman of Boston from 1752 to 1760, when, in March, 1761, he was excused from serving at his own request, but was elected again in 1764, and continued to serve until 1773, when he declined the office. He was a fireward from 1748 to 1765, when he declined, and was on the committee, from 1749 to 1777, for the purchasing of grain, the care of the granary, and for giving all needful directions to the keeper regarding the quantity of grain to be sold and the price thereof. He served on very many special committees, and stood side by side with Hancock, Adams, Molineaux, etc., during the stirring events of his time. In 1756, an act was passed by the General Court authorizing the town of Boston to have a series of lotteries, “for raising monies to pave and repair the Neck.” Col. Jackson (1738) was one of the managers named in the act. Nine drawings were made prior to March, 1760, the board of managers remaining the same. He became a member of the Old South Church, Aug. 18, 1754, and was very active in its affairs. He was appointed a justice of the peace, Sept. 14, 1756. Col. Jackson (1738) was one of a committee of the town which waited on Lord Colvil in 1752, Gov. Pownall in 1760, and Gov. Bernard in 1768, presenting congratulatory addresses from the town of Boston. In 1766, at a critical time, he was on the important committee concerning the secret depositions accusing prominent men and injuring the town. James Otis was chairman; Col. Jackson's (1738) name stands next, and John Hancock's third. In 1768, the regiments arrived in Boston from Halifax and Ireland, and troubles multiplied. The invasion of the town, the seizing and impressment of inhabitants of Boston, the obstruction of navigation, and the menace of famine, incited the people to address the governor and ask that the war-ship “Romney” leave the harbor. A true statement of affairs was likewise sent to the London agent. In these patriotic offices Col. Jackson (1738) shared. Oct. 4, 1769, with the Messrs. Cushing, Samuel and John Adams, Otis, Warren, etc., Col. Jackson (1738) was appointed to vindicate the character of the town from false representations contained in memorials to the king; and a little later he was one of the committee which transmitted the town's vote of thanks to Col. Barré for waiting upon the sovereign in person and presenting their petition. He was one of the selectmen of Boston, March 6, 1770, the day after the Massacre, and was one of a committee to wait on the lieutenant-governor and inform him that “it is the opinion of the town that the inhabitants and the soldiery can no longer dwell together in safety.” “The immediate removal of troops was demanded.” Col. Jackson (1738) set and maintained a military watch while the meeting of March 6 was in session. June 24, 1771, he was moderator of the town meeting, and was thanked for his prompt despatch of business. He was also, March 5, 1772, one of a committee “to return the thanks of the town to Joseph Warren, Esq., for the oration delivered by him at their request, in commemoration of the horrid massacre perpetrated on the evening of the 5th of March, 1770, by a party of soldiers of the Twenty-Ninth Regiment, and to desire a copy thereof for the press.” He was about seventy-five years of age when he ceased to hold public office. His continuance therein, his military promotions, and the committees of “the true and the tried” upon which he served, evince his personal ability and worth, and the esteem and confidence in which he was held by his countrymen. He died at Boston, April 10, 1790, aged eighty-three years. He was buried under arms, by the Artillery Company, in the King's Chapel Burial-Ground, though he was not in commission at the time. A band of music, the first in Boston on such an occasion, accompanied the funeral procession. His property inventoried over three thousand pounds.
Arthur Savage (1738), son of Habijah (1699) and Hannah (Phillips) (Anderson) Savage, was born July 19, 1715. Thomas (1739) and Capt. Habijah (1733) were brothers of Capt. Arthur (1738). His marriage does not appear to be recorded in Boston records. He held minor town offices in 1738, 1750–2. He was active in the militia, and rose to the grade of captain, serving in that capacity at Fort Frederick from Nov. 21, 1740, to May 20, 1742.
Capt. Arthur Savage (1738) died Jan. 25, 1765.”
William Taylor (1738), of Boston, son of John and Ann (Winslow) Taylor, of Milton, was born in Milton in 1714. He married (1) Faith, daughter of Knelem and Abigail (Waterman) Winslow, and (2) Nov. 30, 1749, Sarah Cheever, widow of Capt. Habijah Savage, Jr. (1733), son of Lieut.-Col. Habijah Savage (1699). He was identified with the militia, and rose to the rank of colonel. He was a member of the Masonic Fraternity.
He was clerk of the Artillery Company in 1741 and 1742, second sergeant in 1743, ensign in 1756, lieutenant in 1757, and captain in 1760. He died at Milton, Mass.” Feb. 16, 1789, aged seventy-five years, and was buried in King's Chapel Burial-Ground.
Sendall Williams (1738), cooper, of Boston, was a son of Dea. Jonathan Williams (1711), of the First Church, and grandson of Dea. Robert Williams. His mother was Mary (Hunlock) Williams, granddaughter of Samuel Sendall. Dea. Jonathan (1711) and Mary Williams had two sons, Jonathan, Jr. (1729), and Sendall (1738). The latter was born Feb. 26, 1705, and married, Feb. 14, 1739–40, Elizabeth Smart, widow of John Smart, of Boston.
Sendall Williams (1738) was appointed by the selectmen, Dec. 4, 1734, one of three persons to take care of the Old and South burying places. One of the said persons, with one assistant, was obliged “to attend the funeral of every white person at the gate of the burying-place, to conduct the corpse to the grave, and to see the same covered up,” and also to lock and unlock the gates at proper times. The price for digging a grave was from five to ten shillings. July 14, 1736, being summoned before the selectmen, Sendall Williams (1738) was informed by them “That Complaints were Exhibited him for his Uncertain and Irregular Ringing the Bell at 9, 5, and 11 O'clock. He offered some Reasons for Excusing the same ; and withal Signified his readiness to resign that Office, when his Quarter is up.” Upon the 3oth of August following, Mr. Williams (1738) resigned the care and ringing, daily, of the South Church bell.”
Sendall Williams (1738). Authority: Boston Records.
* “Boston, Monday 28th 1765. Friday asternoon last died, very suddenly, Capt Arthur Savage, in the 50th year of his age. His Remains are to be interred tomorrow afternoon.”— Boston Wewspaper.
* “Aster the battle of Lexington the town of Milton removed the surniture from Gov. Hutchinson's house, to save it from utter ruin. Mr. Samuel Henshaw afterwards visited the house and found in the garret a trunk full of papers, among which was
the governor's letter-book, which he secured. Col.
Sendall Williams (1738) served as constable in 1741, and was elected culler of staves in 1745, 1746, and 1747, but in the last year was excused from serving. Aug. 24, 1737, he was licensed to keep a retail shop in Cold Lane (now Portland Street), but in 1744 he carried on the same business in School Street.
The record of the Artillery Company for 1738 is as follows: — “April 3, 1738. The Company being under arms, made choice of the Rev'd John Cotton of Newtown, to preach the next Artillery Election sermon, and that the present commission officers, with Mr. Henry Gibbs , be a committee to request it of him. Voted, also, that Mr. Samuel Holyoke , one of the former Clerks, be paid the sum of ten pounds eight shillings & seven pence out of the publick stock in the hands of the committee; it being so much due to him to balance accounts for monies expended for the Company, as by the report of the Committee appointed to examine the Clerks accounts. Voted, also, at the same time, that the sum of eight pounds be paid to Thomas Johnson out of their publick stock in full of his account for painting of drums for the Company's use. “May 1, 1738. Under arms. The committee appointed to acquaint the Rev'd Mr. John Cotton of the choice the Company made of him to preach the next Artillery Election sermon, returned answer that it was against his conscience to preach a sermon on that occasion; and therefore desired to be excused. Upon which the Company made choice of Rev'd Mr. Ebenezer Turell, of Mystick, for that service and, voted, that the commission officers of the Company, with Col Jacob Wendell , be a committee to request it of him. Voted, also, in the evening, that the Company would choose a Treasurer for the service of the Company; and then made choice of Capt William Downe  for that service until another should be chosen in his room. Also, voted, that Mr. Samuel Holyoke  should deliver what papers he has, belonging to the Company in his hands to Capt William Downe , Treasurer of the Company. Voted also that Capt Daniel Henchman's  account of what monies he has received of the Company was accepted by them, and that the sum of forty shillings due from him to the Company, to balance his account exhibited to the Company, should be by him paid unto Capt. William Downe [1716), Treasurer of said Company. Also the Company voted thanks to Mr. Samuel Holyoke  for the extraordinary services he had done the Company, whilst in his Clerkship and at all other times. “Memo. Oct. 2. This day being the day appointed by Charter for the exercise of the Honorable Artillery Company, it, proving unseasonable weather, was put by according to said Charter, till the next Friday, and then met, it being the 6" of October, 1738.”
Rev. John Cotton, of Newton, was invited to preach the Artillery election sermon in 1738, but, as “it was against his conscience to preach a sermon on that occasion,” he declined. He was a son of Rev. Rowland Cotton (who preached the Artillery sermon in 1706), and great-grandson of Rev. John Cotton, of Boston (who preached the Artillery sermon in 1651), and was born in 1693. He graduated at Harvard College in 17 Io. He married, Feb. 19, 1719, Mary, daughter of Robert Gibbs (1692), of Boston, who resided in Gibbs' Lane, afterward (1845) called Belmont Street. She was a sister of Henry Gibbs (1726). Mr. Cotton preached in Newton as a candidate, and subsequently, March 22, 1714, the town voted to invite him to become its minister at a salary of eighty
Rev. John Cotton. AUTHORITY: Smith's Hist. of Newton, pp. 217, 218.
pounds per annum. He was ordained Nov. 3, 1714. His ministry extended over a period of forty-two and a half years. A Latin epitaph is supposed to describe the man : “Here is deposited all that was mortal of the reverend and truly venerable John Cotton, the most faithful, prudent, and learned pastor of the church of Newton, renowned for his ability in preaching and in prayer, distinguished for his purity, honored of all for his holy life, and deeply lamented, especially by his congregation, to whom “being dead he yet speaketh.’ Fame will proclaim his beloved name far and wide with a louder and more lasting voice than the most enduring marble. Broken, but not by age, he died May 17, 1757, in the sixty-fourth year of his age and the forty-third of his ministry.”
Rev. Ebenezer Turell, of Mystic (Medford), who also declined the invitation of the Company to deliver the anniversary sermon in 1738, son of Samuel and Lydia (Stoddard) Turell, was born in Medford, Feb. 5, 17oz. He was a grandson of Capt. Daniel Turell (1660), and his mother was a daughter of Anthony Stoddard, son of Simeon (1675). Rev. Ebenezer Turell married, (1) Aug. 11, 1726, Jane Colman, who died March 26, 1735; (2) Oct. 23, 1735, Lucy, daughter of Addington Davenport (1692), who died May 17, 1759, aged forty-five, and, (3) Aug. 21, 1760, Jane Pepperell, of Kittery. He graduated at Harvard College in 1721, and studied with Rev. Benjamin Colman, whose daughter, Jane, was Rev. Ebenezer's first wife. June 17, 1724, the church at Medford unanimously elected Rev. Ebenezer Turell as its pastor, at a salary of one hundred pounds per year, and Aug. 31, 1724, he accepted it, which the church and town considered and accepted, Sept. 19, 1724. He was installed Nov. 25, 1724, the sermon being delivered by Rev. Benjamin Colman. During his pastorate he printed several pamphlets, which called out earnest replies. He was one of the many ministers opposed to Rev. George Whitefield. On the death of the latter, he delivered a sermon concerning him from the text, “Verily every man, at his best estate, is altogether vanity.” In 1772, too infirm to perform all the duties of his position, assistance was furnished by the town, and, in 1774, a colleague was provided. He died Dec. 5, 1778, and was buried at Medford.
Rev. Benjamin Colman, D. D., of Boston, who was preacher before the Artillery Company in 1702, delivered the Artillery election sermon in 1738. It was nearly the middle of May, 1738, when Mr. Colman was invited to deliver the centennial Artillery sermon, but, as in the case of Rev. Cotton Mather, in 17of, a short notice was sufficient.
Rev. Ebenezer Turell. AUTHORITY: Brooks's
Captain Lyman , with two or three more IIist. of Medford.
Volunteers in his Youth, who penetrated far into
* Extracts from the “Sermon preached to the
our Woods to seek out the Enemy; and by cutting