페이지 이미지
PDF
ePub

until his death, which occurred May 11, 1811, in the parsonage, near the corner of Summer and Chauncy streets.

Rev. William Emerson and wife, Ruth, had eight children, of whom one was the late Ralph Waldo Emerson, of Cambridge." Rev. William Emerson became a member of nearly all the learned and charitable societies in Boston, and in most of them was intrusted with some important office.

The officers of the Artillery Company elected in 1800 were: Jonas S. I 800. Bass (1789), captain; Daniel Messinger (1792), lieutenant; Richard Austin (1792), ensign. Joseph Loring, Jr. (1793), was first sergeant; Joshua Eaton (1796), second sergeant; John P. Duncklee (1796), third sergeant; Nahum Piper (1794), fourth sergeant; John Winslow (1786), treasurer, and John S. Lillie (1794), clerk. In the year 18oo Amasa Davis (1786) was quartermaster-general of Massachusetts; Andrew Cunningham (1786), deputy quartermaster-general, First Division; William Hull (1788), major-general of the Third Division, Massachusetts Volunteer Militia; Samuel Swan (1788), deputy quartermaster-general, Third Division; Ebenezer Mattoon (1817), major-general of the Fourth Division; John Winslow (1786), brigadier-general of the Legionary Brigade; George Blanchard (1794), brigade-major; Benjamin Russell (1788), major of the First Sublegion; Elijah Crane (1819), captain in Second Brigade, First Division of Cavalry. Among the Company officers in the Legionary Brigade in Boston were Captains William Williams (1789), Asa Hatch (18ol), Amasa Stetson (1796), and Daniel Messinger (1792); in the Sublegion of Light Infantry, Capt. John Brazer (1786); in the Sublegion of Artillery, Capt. Robert Gardner (1794), and Lieuts. John Bray (1788) and George Singleton, Jr. (1792). Oct. 30, 1800, Capt. Messinger's (1792) and Capt. Stetson's (1796) companies of Boston militia paraded at noon in honor of the President of the United States, and in the afternoon a banquet was served in Concert Hall, at which the President and other distinguished guests were present. The members of the Artillery Company recruited in 1800 were: Henry Brazer, Henry Messinger.

Henry Brazer (18oo), a seedsman, of Boston, resided in Cole Lane.

* The following lines were written on the occa- 1814, by his grandson, Ralph Waldo Emerson, then sion of Mr. John Haskins's (1768) death, Oct. 27, a lad of eleven years : —

“ON THE DEATH OF MR. John Haskins [1768].

“See the calm exit of the aged saint,
Without a murmur and without complaint;
While round him gathered, all his children stand,
And some one holds his withered, pallid hand.
He bids them trust in God, nor mourn, nor weep;
He breathes religion, and then falls asleep.
Then on angelic wings he soars to God,
Rejoiced to leave his earthly, mortal load;
His head is covered with a crown of gold,
His hands, renewed, a harp immortal hold;
Thus clothed with light, the tuneful spirit sings —

. He sings of mercy and of heavenly things.”

Henry Messinger (18oo), hatter, of Boston, brother of Col. Daniel Messinger (1792), and son of Daniel and Mary Messinger, of Wrentham, was born in that town, March 23, 1773. He married (1) Frances 13owen and (2) Esther Gould. His shop was No. 1 o Dock Square, and his residence No. 6 Winter Street. He was first sergeant of the Artillery Company in 1804.

All the records of the Military Company of the Massachusetts, or of the Ancient and Honorable Artillery Company, as the Company is called at the present time, from the first record now existing to the close of 1799, have been printed on the preceding pages. These records are reproduced with a careful adherence to the original as regards spelling, capitalization and punctuation.

The annual records of the business and parades of the Company in the years subsequent to the Revolution increase in length year by year, and at the same time possess a similarity which seems to forbid their reproduction in detail.

Hereafter, the general facts of the records, which will add to the interest and value of the Company's history, will be presented in the same order as heretofore, but with no attempt at exact quotation.

On Saturday evening, Jan. 4, 18oo, the Company held a special meeting, “on the mournful and distressing occasion of the death of the immortal Washington.” The Company then “Voted unanimously, that, in testimony of the high respect and veneration of the character of the illustrious deceased, Gen. Washington, this Company will appear upon their parade days and all special occasions upon which they may be on duty during the present year, and their officers on Sundays during that time, with the usual badge of mourning.” At the meeting April 11, after a parade and drill upon the Common, Rev. William Walter, D. D., was elected to deliver the anniversary sermon on the next election day. The Artillery Company afterward proceeded to Charlestown, and after a variety of firings and evolutions returned to their armory. Dr. Walter declined the honor of preaching the election sermon, and the Company elected Rev. Mr. Kellogg, of Framingham, who accepted. Four meetings were held in May, 1800: May 5, for parade and drill; May 12, 26, and 30, for business. At the meeting held May 26, the Company considered the question whether there should be a fourth officer chosen at the ensuing election, with the rank of second lieutenant, and called “the adjutant.” It was determined, by a large majority, to elect such an officer, and the commissioned officers were appointed a committee to wait on the governor, inform him of the foregoing vote, and request him to invest the said officer, on election day, with the badge of his office. Friday evening, May 30, the Company met at the senate chamber, in the Old State House, and after some observations by Gen. John Winslow (1786), and other members, the subject of having a fourth officer was reconsidered. Monday, June 2, 1800, the day appointed by the charter for the election of officers, the Company paraded at the old Representatives' Room, and being formed, under the command of Capt. Robert Gardner (1794), marched to the State House, from whence they escorted his Excellency Caleb Strong, the council, Major-Gen. Elliot and staff, and other gentlemen, to the Old Brick Meeting-House, where the sermon was delivered by

Henry Messinger (18oo). Authority: New Eng. Hist, and Gen. Reg., 1862.

Rev. Mr. Kellogg, of Framingham. After the church service, the Company escorted a procession composed of the executive, legislative, judicial, federal, state, municipal, and military officers, foreign consuls, and others, to Faneuil Hall, - which was decorated in a military and mournful style on account of the deaths of Gen. Washington, Gov. Sumner, and Lieut.-Gov. Gill, since the last anniversary, -and partook of the usual dinner. A number of patriotic toasts were offered. The third toast was, “The Memory of our departed Washington: Our aching hearts bear witness that he who was “first in war, and first in peace,’ will forever continue first in the affections of his fellow-countrymen.” The response was by Messrs. Bowman (1793) and Eaton (1796), who sung the following

COMMEMORATIVE ODE

IN Honor of WASHINGTON, - PERFORMED ON THE ANNiversary Choice of Officers of The ANCIENT AND HoNorABLE ComPANY of ARTILLERY, JUNE 2, 1800.

Of Caesar's, Alexander's fame,
In gorgeous style historians write;
But WASHINGTON's illustrious name
Reflects a clearer, steadier light,
Whose orb refulgent, while it blaz'd,
Caught splendor from the clouds it raised.

Great, noble, gen'rous, good, and brave;
In war, in peace, he shone the same;
His deeds shall live through every age,
And those unborn his praise proclaim;
Time shall his glorious acts enroll,
While godlike actions charm the soul.

He cheer'd Columbia's darkest hour, —
He made her infant name rever'd :
Confirm'd her laws, and fix’d her power;
By FoEs admired, by FACTION fear'd.
Then thus shall sigh each patriot son,
Peace to the SHADE of Washington.

Toasts were also offered in memory of Gov. Increase Sumner and Lieut.-Gov. Moses Gill. The Company proceeded to the Common, went through a variety of evolutions, etc., and then made choice of the following-named officers for the ensuing year: Mr. Jonas S. Bass (1789), captain; Capt. Daniel Messinger (1792), lieutenant; Mr. Richard Austin (1792), ensign. Mr. Joseph Loring, Jr. (1793), Mr. Joshua Eaton (1796), Mr. John P. Duncklee (1796), Mr. Nahum Piper (1794), sergeants; Gen. John Winslow (1786), treasurer, and Mr. John S. Lillie (1794), clerk. After the officers were commissioned, the proper salutes were paid the governor, and he was escorted to the Province House. The Artillery Company, with many guests, returned to Faneuil Hall. The editor of the Centinel remarked, “This festival has of late years been the most splendid in our political calendar, and preparations were made that it should experience no diminution. Faneuil Hall was accordingly decorated in a style of elegant neatness evincive of the industry and taste of Col. Waters [1769].” The west end of the Hall exhibited the reverse of the seal of the United States, viz., a pyramid unfinished, in the suspended top stone an eye in a triangle, irradiated, and the motto “Annuit captis,” alluding to the many signal interpositions of Providence in favor of the American cause. The base of the pyramid bore the date “ 1776,” and the inscription “Asovus ordo seculorum.” In front of the pyramid was a portrait of Washington, by Stuart, encircled by sixteen hearts, proper, which bore in gold letters: “We are one, and Washington, that friend of mankind, lives within us,” alluding to a sentence in President Adams's address to Congress on Washington's death. Under the portrait, a curtain bore these words: “By Virtue he acquired Glory and Glory gained him Immortality.” Over the portrait a crescent bearing the words: “Mec falso, nec alieno,” — “He shines neither with false nor borrowed lustre.” Above all, a festooned curtain bore

the couplet, —
“We'll chant his fame from shore to shore,
Till suns shall rise and set no more.”

On the right of the pyramid a large urn, on a pedestal, bore this inscription: “To the Memory of his late Excellency, Gov. Sumner.” On the left an obelisk, “To the Memory of his late Honor, Lieut.-Gov. Gill.”

The sides of the Hall represented a full armory of firelocks. The two brass pieces of artillery, “Hancock” and “Adams,” were appropriately placed ; mourning emblems were tastefully arranged, and a festoon suspended from a brilliant star in the centre of the ceiling bore the words: “Short is the duration of human life; that of Glory is eternal.”

The Company held two meetings in-August, 1800, for exercise.

On the first day of September the Company paraded, and performed its usual duty, and also on the sixth day of October.

Rev. William Walter, D. D., of Boston, was invited to deliver the Artillery election sermon in 1800, but declined, on account of illness. He was a son of Rev. Nathaniel and Rebecca (Abbott) Walter, and was born in Roxbury, Oct. 7, 1737. He graduated at Harvard College in 1756. He married, Sept. 30, 1766, Lydia Lynde, of Salem. He was inducted into office as assistant rector of Trinity Church, Boston, July 22, 1764. In 1767 he succeeded to the rectorship, and occupied that position until March 17, 1776, when he resigned, and accompanied Gen. Howe to Yarmouth, N. S. At one period of the Revolution he appears to have been chaplain of De Lancey's Third Battalion, and in 1785 was in charge of an Episcopal church at Shelburne, N. S. He returned to Boston in 1791, became rector of Christ Church May 28, 1792, and occupied that position until his decease. He died Dec. 5, 1800, and his remains were buried under Christ Church, Boston.

His son joined the Artillery Company in 1791.

Rev. David Kellogg, of Framingham, delivered the Artillery election sermon in 18oo. He was a son of David and Esther (Smith) Kellogg, and was born in Amherst, Mass., in 1755. He was prepared for college under the tuition of Rev. David Parsons, of Amherst. He graduated at Dartmouth College in 1775, and immediately after began the study of divinity, under the direction of Mr. Parsons. Having completed his preparatory studies he preached in Concord and Framingham. His labors in Framingham began April 5, 1778, and were continued until Dec. 7, when he received a nearly unanimous invitation from the church and parish to become their pastor. He declined

Rev. William Walter, D. D. Authorities: Rev. David Kellogg. Authority: Barry's Mem. Hist. of Boston; Sabine's American Loyalists. Hist. of Framingham.

the invitation on account of the distresses of the war, but did supply the pulpit until July 3, 1780, when the invitation was repeated. He accepted, and was ordained Jan. Io, 1781. He married, May 27, 1781, Sally Bridge, of East Sudbury, Mass. He continued as pastor of the church in Framingham until September, 1830, when he retired from the pastoral office, and spent the remainder of his earthly days in the enjoyment of a vigorous and “green old age.” He died Aug. 13, 1843. “He was a true, upright, and wise man, a worthy representative of genuine Congregationalism, in the palmy days of its union and strength.”

The officers of the Artillery Company elected in 1801 were: Benjamin 180 I. Russell (1788), captain; George Blanchard (1794), lieutenant; Jonathan - Loring, Jr. (1792), ensign. Joshua Gardner, Jr. (1798), was first sergeant; Elijah Davenport (1797), second sergeant; Benjamin West (1797), third sergeant; William Jepson (1797), fourth sergeant; John Winslow (1786) treasurer, and Thomas Clark (1786), clerk.

The Winslow Blues, commanded by Capt. Messinger (1792), paraded on Thursday, June 18, 1801, for the first time after the incorporation of the company into the Sublegion of Light Infantry. The company marched to Cambridge, and had dinner at Porter's Hall. The officers of the Ancient and Honorable Artillery Company were invited as guests of the company. After dinner the Winslow Blues marched to Cambridge Common, completed the exercise of the day, and returned to Boston.

October 3o the same company paraded again, in honor of the natal day of the Hon. John Adams.

The members of the Artillery Company recruited in 1801 were: Samuel Billings, John Binney, James Bird, Samuel Bright, Abraham Butterfield, Ezra Davis, Samuel Downer, Richard Edwards, Jeremiah Gardner, Jr., John B. Hammatt, Asa Hatch, Thomas Hillyard, Daniel G. Ingersoll, Samuel Larkin, Isaiah Lucas, George Noble, Isaac P. Simpson, Samuel Williams.

Samuel Billings (18or), merchant, of Boston, was born in Canton, Mass., in 1772. He came to Boston in early life and established himself as a merchant. For many years he occupied a store on Long Wharf, in connection with Thomas Thacher, his son-in-law, under the firm name of Samuel Billings & Co. He married, Oct. 30, 1806, Nancy Martin. He held several offices of trust and responsibility, viz., selectman of the town of Boston in 1820 and 1821 ; a member of the first board of aldermen, of Boston, in 1822; a representative to the General Court, and also a State senator. For many years he was a director in the State Bank, then the largest moneyed institution in the Commonwealth. He was highly respected for his uprightness and moral worth.

He was third sergeant of the Artillery Company in 1804. He received the Masonic degrees prior to Feb. 28, 1798, when he became a member of St. Andrew's Royal Arch Chapter. He also held office in the Grand Chapter, June 8, 1801; he was a charter

Samuel Billings (18oi). AUTHORITIES : By-Laws of St. Andrew's Chapter; Whitman's Hist. A. and H. A. Company.

« 이전계속 »