« 이전계속 »
Simpson (18or), fourth sergeant; John Winslow (1786), treasurer, and Thomas Clark (1786), clerk.
Tuesday, Oct. 30, 1804, the Legionary Brigade, commanded by Brig.-Gen. Winslow (1786), and composed of the militia of Boston and Chelsea, was inspected and reviewed on the Common. The line was formed in the forenoon for inspection, and in the afternoon Major-Gen. Elliot was the reviewing officer. The line, from right to left, consisted of a troop of cavalry, commanded by Capt. Purkitt; a sublegion of light infantry, composed of the Winslow Blues, Capt. Messinger (1792); the Boston Light Infantry, Capt. Davis; the Boston Fusileers, Lieut. Howe (1792), and the Washington Light Infantry, Capt. Loring (1793), the sublegion being commanded by Capt. Brazer (1786); a sublegion of artillery, commanded by Capt. Bray (1788); three sublegions of infantry, of four companies each, commanded by Major Osgood (1797), Major Stearns, and Capt. Clement (1795). The field was commanded by Brig.-Gen. Winslow (1786).
The Major-General and Brig.-Gen. Winslow (1786) expressed themselves as much pleased with the correct and soldier-like conduct of the troops, their martial appearance, the cleanliness of their arms and equipments, and the attention paid to the duties of the day.
The member of the Artillery Company recruited in 1804 was William Marston.
William Marston (18o3), merchant, of Boston, was born in 1778. His place of business was No. 2 o India Street, and his residence on Leverett Street. He was first sergeant of the Artillery Company in 1806.
Mr. Whitman (1810) enlarges upon the “savage temper” of Mr. Marston (18o3). He seems to have made himself and others miserable by his lack of self-control. He died at Woonsocket Falls, R.I., Aug. 8, 1836, aged fifty-eight years.
There were public parades of the Artillery Company, under the command of Capt. Lemuel Gardner (1787), on the 6th of April and 7th of May, 1804. Rev. Mr. Joseph Tuckerman, of Chelsea, was invited to deliver the anniversary Sermon. June 4, 1804, the usual duties of election day were observed. Capt. Daniel Messinger (1792) was elected captain; Capt. Charles Clement (1795), lieutenant; Mr. Elijah Davenport (1797), ensign; Messrs. Henry Messinger (18oo), John Binney (18or ), Samuel Billings (18or), and Isaac P. Simpson (18o 1), sergeants; Gen. John Winslow (1786), treasurer, and Thomas Clark (1786), clerk. The usual parades were held Sept. 3 and Oct. 1, 1804, the Company being commanded by Capt. Messinger (1792). At a meeting held Sept. 3, a committee, consisting of Capt. Messinger (1792), Major Russell (1788), Capt. Clement (1795), Capt. Loring (1793), B. West (1797), E. Davenport (1797), Major Blanchard (1794), Gen. Winslow (1786), and Capt. Phillips (1790), was appointed to take into consideration a proposal made by Col. Waters (1769) respecting the propriety of establishing a military library. Sept 24, at a special meeting, the committee unanimously reported that, in their opinion, it is expedient to form a military library, to consist of such military books, manuscripts, etc., as may be presented by any person or persons for the benefit of the institution. A committee was chosen to carry the report of the committee into effect.
William Marston (1804). Authority: Whitman's Hist. A. and H. A. Company, Ed. 1842.
The exercises of the one hundred and sixty-sixth anniversary were observed as usual, notwithstanding the storm, except the Company repaired to the rotunda of the New State House, rather than to the Common, for the election of officers, and the newly elected officers were there commissioned. Faneuil Hall was elaborately decorated with flowers, evergreens, etc., and with the portraits of those distinguished patriots
of our country who had deceased. The following was sung at the anniversary dinner, June 4, 1804, the United States
having just acquired Louisiana by purchase : —
“Whilst England and France madly fight for a rock,
“What thousands of lives, what millions of money,
“No widows, no orphans, bedev with their tears
“Prosperity, harmony, offspring of peace,
“May freedom still wider and wider extend,
Rev. Joseph Tuckerman, of Chelsea, delivered the Artillery election sermon of 1804. He was a son of Edward (1765) and Elizabeth (Harris) Tuckerman, and was born in Boston, Jan. 18, 1778. He was fitted for college at Phillips Academy, Andover, Mass., and graduated at Harvard College in 1798. He then pursued theological study under Rev. Mr. Thacher; was licensed to preach by the Boston Association, and shortly after was invited to become pastor of the church in Chelsea as successor to Rev. Dr.
Rev. Joseph Tuckerman. AUTHORITY: Sprague's Annals of the American Pulpit.
Phillips Payson. Mr. Tuckerman accepted the call, and was ordained and installed Nov. 4, 1801. He married, July 5, 1803, Abigail Parkman, of Boston. She survived her marriage only four years, and he married (2) Sarah Cary, of Chelsea. On Nov. 4, 1826, he preached his farewell sermon in Chelsea. Immediately after his resignation, he entered upon the work of minister-at-large in Boston, to which city he removed. In the benevolent activities of his position he spent the residue of his life. His health failing, he was induced, in 1839, to try the effect of a sea voyage to Cuba, but he continued to decline, and died at Havana, April 20, 1840. His remains were brought home, and, after funeral services in King's Chapel, they were borne to their resting-place at Mount Auburn.
The officers of the Artillery Company elected in 1805 were: George
I80 . Blanchard (1794), captain; Melzar Holmes (1798), lieutenant; Nahum
Piper (1794), ensign. Daniel G. Ingersoll (18o 1) was first sergeant; Jere
miah Gardner, Jr. (18or), second sergeant; George Noble (18or), third sergeant;
James Bird (18o 1), fourth sergeant; John Winslow (1786), treasurer, and Thomas
Clark (1786), clerk.
The members of the Artillery Company recruited in 1805 were: Nathaniel Brown,
Thomas L. Chase, Nathaniel Clarke, Charles Davies, David Forsaith.
Nathaniel Brown (1805) was a ship-joiner, of Boston, and lived on Ship Street. He was a son of Nathaniel, Jr., and Elizabeth (Harding) Brown, and was born in Charlestown (baptized), Sept. 23, 1770. He was quartermaster of the Sublegion of Artillery from 1807 to 1809, with the rank of lieutenant, and fourth sergeant of the Artillery Company in 1807. He received the Masonic degrees in Mount Lebanon Lodge, of Boston, in the summer of 1802, and was discharged Nov. 5, 1805. He became a member of St. Andrew's Chapter, Jan. 25, 1804, and resigned his membership Nov. 14, 1814.
Thomas L. Chase (1805) was a shopkeeper, of Boston. He was an officer in the United States Army in 1812.
Nathaniel Clarke (1805), merchant, engaged in the West India goods trade on the south side of the market. His residence was No. 7 1 Middle Street. Mr. Clarke (1805) was second sergeant of the Artillery Company in 1807.
Charles Davies (1805), tin-plate worker, of Boston, did business at No. 2 Kilby Street, and resided in Gouch Lane. Mr. Davies (1805) died in 1810, aged thirtysix years.
David Forsaith (1805) was a shopkeeper, afterward auctioneer, of Boston. Mr. Forsaith (1805) was third sergeant of the Artillery Company in 1808. He died suddenly in the street, April 9, 1824, aged fifty-two years.
Nathaniel Brown (1805). Authorities: Wyman's Charlestown Genealogies and Estates; Records of Mt. Lebanon Lodge and St. Andrew's Chapter.
The stated parades of the Artillery Company were held April 1 and May 6, 1805. At the former meeting, Rev. Thaddeus M. Harris was chosen to deliver the anniversary election sermon. Monday, June 3, the Company paraded at the Old South Church, proceeded thence to the State House, and escorted his Excellency the Governor to the Old Brick MeetingHouse, when the usual services were held. At the dinner the usual toasts were offered, and the election was held on the Common. Major George Blanchard (1794) was elected captain; Mr. Melzar Holmes (1798), lieutenant; Mr. Nahum Piper (1794), ensign; Messrs. Daniel G. Ingersoll (18ol), Jeremiah Gardner, Jr. (18oi), George Noble (18ol), and James Bird (18or), sergeants; Gen. John Winslow (1786), treasurer; Capt. Thomas Clark (1786), clerk. Capt. Messinger (1792) then took command, Major Blanchard (1794) being indisposed, and exhibited the proficiency of the corps to the Governor and spectators, after which his Excellency commissioned the newly-elected officers. The Company returned to Faneuil Hall under the command of Lieut. Melzar Holmes (1798). The Company paraded, commanded by Major Blanchard (1794), Sept. 2 and Oct. 6, 1805. At the dinner sixteen toasts were offered, after each of which there was vocal or instrumental music. “Strong's March" and “President's March” were played by a band, in reply to the toasts to the Governor and the President, and “Old Hundred,” “Hail Columbia,” “From Vernon's Mount behold the Hero rise,” and “Yankee Doodle,” were sung by the Company. After the eighth toast, “Our Military Brethren: May their virtues adorn the country to which their lives may be devoted,” Lieut. Bowman (1793) sung the following anniversary ode, which was written for the occasion by the Rev. Thaddeus M. Harris, and was printed in the AVorfolk Alepository, of Dedham,
une 18, 1805 : —
“But should invasion e'er intrude
“Our independence to maintain,
“With wreaths be every soldier crowned,