« 이전계속 »
Caswell Beal (1806), tailor, of Boston, son of Benjamin and Martha (Thaxter) Beal, of Hingham, was born in that town June 18, 1778, and learned, in Boston, the tailor's trade. He married Hannah Jacob, who survived him. He carried on the tailoring business for a few years, on his own account, in the Old State House. He was an active and zealous politician, but of a pleasant and social disposition.
Mr. Beal (1806) was ensign in the Second Regiment, Legionary Brigade, from 1809 to 1813 inclusive ; lieutenant in 1814; captain in 1815, and colonel in 1816; was third sergeant of the Artillery Company in 1809, and ensign in 1813. He could not withstand the New England climate, but was obliged to seek the warmer South. He received the Masonic degrees in The Massachusetts Lodge in 1811. He died at New Orleans, La., in March, 1817.
Stephen Bean (1806), lawyer, of Boston, son of Joshua Bean, of Gilmanton, N.H., was born in Brentwood, N.H., in 1772. He was fitted for college by Rev. Isaac Smith, and graduated at Dartmouth in 1798. He taught in the academy at Salisbury, N. H., for a short time, then moved to Boston and “engaged in mercantile pursuits.” He married, in Boston, May 4, 1808, Miss Susan Hubbart, a lady of wealth. He became a member of Columbian Lodge, July 4, 1804; was secretary in 1805, senior warden in 1806, and master in 1807–8. He joined St. Andrew's Chapter, April 2, 1806; received the orders in Boston Commandery, Knights Templars, Oct. 29, 1806, and became a member, Aug. 10, 1816. He never held any office in the Artillery Company. He died in Boston, Dec. Io, 1825, aged fifty-three years.
William Bowman (1806), hatter, of Boston, son of William and Lucy (Sumner?) Bowman, was born in Dorchester, Aug. 31, 1782. He was a cousin of Gen. W. H. Sumner (1819). He “never married,” according to Mr. Bond's “History of Watertown.”
Mr. Bowman (1806) manufactured hats, and kept a store on Ann Street, but, having failed in business, he lost all ambition, and had no heart to struggle against his troubles. Some of the members of the Artillery Company became interested in him, and obtained for him a commission as ensign in the army of 1812. He immediately repaired to Sackett's Harbor, engaged in several battles, particularly Fort Erie and Bridgewater, where he displayed many acts of valor, and was promoted to be a captain in Col. Miller's regiment. Upon the restoration of peace he returned to Boston, and resumed his occupation. He was second sergeant of the Artillery Company in 1808. He died at Cambridgeport in 1820.
Josiah Calef (1806), merchant, of Boston, was born in Kingston, N. H., May 21 1782. His father, Joseph, was a Revolutionary soldier, and his mother was a daughter of Josiah Bartlett, M. D., a signer of the Declaration of Independence. Mr. Calef (18o0) removed to Boston about 1800.
Caswell Beal (1806). AUTHORITIES: Lincoln's Hist. of Hingham; Whitman's Hist. A. and H. A. Company, Ed. 1842; Annals of Mass. Char. Mech. Association; Mass. Military Archives.
Stephen Bean (1806). Authorities: Whitman's Hist. A. and H. A. Company, Ed. 1842; Hist. of Columbian Lodge, by John T. I leard, p. o6. 49 William Bowman (1806). AUTilokiti Es: Whitman's Hist. A. and H. A. Company, Ed. 1842;
New Eng. Hist, and Gen. Reg., 1854; Genealogy
Mr. Whitman (1810) says that “Mr. Calef  was a descendant of Robert Calfe, Jr., who joined the Artillery Company in 17 Io. . . . He was much respected for his philanthropy.”
Josiah Calef (1806) received the Masonic degrees in The Massachusetts Lodge in November, 1806, and February, 1807; became a member, March 30, 1807, and demitted March 30, 1827. He became a member of St. Andrew's Chapter, Oct. 26, 1808, and demitted in January, 1832.
Mr. Calef (1806) removed to Saco, Me., in 1811, and erected works for making nails, which he carried on jointly with others until 1836. He was a prominent citizen of Saco, — a director in various banks, insurance companies, etc., and a director of the Portland, Saco & Portsmouth Railroad from its organization. He died March 2, 1863.
Benjamin Clark (1806), merchant, of Boston, was first sergeant of the Artillery Company in 1810.
“The Tea Leaves of 1773” says, “Benjamin Clarke was a cooper in Ship Street, and in 1807 resided in Prince Street. He became a member of the Massachusetts Charitable Mechanic Association in 1801 ; of the Ancient and Honorable Artillery Company in 1806, and died in 1840.”
Mr. Clark of the Artillery Company did not use the final “e” in spelling his name, and his autograph on the Company records is quite different from that given in “The Tea Leaves.” If Benjamin Clarke was a cooper, then the Benjamin Clark of the Artillery Company was more probably the merchant who resided at No. 30 Marlborough Street, Boston. If so, he was first sergeant of the Artillery Company in 1810.
William Coffin, Jr. (1806), merchant, of Boston, son of William and Mary Coffin, was born in Boston, Jan. 29, 1758.
Thomas Dean (1806), printer and broker, of Boston, the only child of Thomas and Martha (Low) Dean, was born in Boston, Jan. 13, 1779. He was a descendant, in the sixth generation, from John Dane, who came from England in 1636, and settled in Roxbury, Mass. The name was spelled Dane until Thomas, the father of Thomas (18o0), changed it to Dean. Hon. Nathan Dane, who established the law school at Harvard, was a cousin of Thomas Dean, Sr. The last named was a Revolutionary soldier; was in the battle of Bunker Hill; was captured by the British in the fall of 1778, carried to Barbadoes as a prisoner, where he was killed, at the age of twenty-six years, in March, 178o, by a hurricane. He never saw his son Thomas (1806). Mr. Dean (1806) married, June 7, 1801, Nancy Harris Grubb, of Boston, who died May 22, 1835, aged fifty-four years.
Thomas Dean (1806) served his time with Major Benjamin Russell (1788), learning the printer's trade. The firm of Gilbert & Dean was established at Nos. 3 and 16 Old State House, and did a broker's commission business. Mr. Gilbert was likewise a printer, and was a fellow-apprentice with Mr. Dean (1806) in the newspaper office of Major Russell (1788). Oct. 30, 1802, Gilbert & Dean began the publication of the “Boston Weekly Magazine” at their printing-office, No. 56 State Street, next at 78 State Street, and the magazine was discontinued Oct. 19, 1805. The Massachusetts
Thomas Dean (1806). Authorities: Whitman's Hist. A. and H. A. Company, Ed. 1842; M.S. of Mrs. Adelaide E. Cordis, granddaughter of Major Thomas Dean (1806), Medford, Mass.
Bank held a mortgage on the Exchange Coffee-House, which was transferred to Gilbert & Dean just prior to the destruction of that property by fire in 1818. The forty thousand dollars thus invested by the firm was a total loss, but the firm continued in business until 1823, when it was mutually dissolved. Major Thomas Dean (1806) and Thomas W. Hooper then formed a partnership in the same business, and carried it on in the Old State House. This relation continued until Major Dean's (1806) death. Thomas Dean (1806) was a lieutenant in the First Sublegion of Infantry in 1803; was commissioned captain in the military company in Wards 8 and 9, Legionary Brigade, Oct. 5, 1804, in which position he served until March 2, 1810, when he was commissioned major of the Second Regiment of Infantry in the Legionary Brigade of the First Division, Massachusetts Volunteer Militia. His commission as major is in the archives of the Artillery Company. He was in active service as major in the War of 1812–14, from Sept. 13 to Nov. 7, 1814, at South Boston. He was also first sergeant of the Artillery Company in 1808, lieutenant in 1812, and its captain in 1819. He was made an honorary member of the Artillery Company in 1822. Thomas Dean (1806), with his family, attended the Old South Church. From 1807 to 1819 he resided at No. 17 Cook's Court, now Chapman Place, east side of the Parker House. The house is still standing. From 1819 to 1826 Mr. Dean (18o0) resided at the corner of Tremont and Hollis streets. There he died, Sept. 9, 1826, in his fortyninth year, and his remains were placed in his tomb, No. 201, in the Granary BurialGround. The Ancient and Honorable Artillery Company attended his funeral.
Caleb Eddy (1806), merchant, of Boston, son of Capt. Benjamin Eddy, a master mariner, was of the firm of Bemis & Eddy, ship-chandlers, 8 Long Wharf. Mr. Eddy (18o0) resided on Snow-hill Street.
Robert Fennelly (1806), apothecary, of Boston, son of and Sarah (Bell) Fennelly, was born March 22, 1775. His father was of foreign birth. He married Sarah Bell, a sister of Capt. Bell (1756). Robert Fennelly's (1806) wife, Elizabeth, after his decease married Nathan Gurney. Dr. Fennelly (18o0) left no children. He was second sergeant of the Artillery Company in 1810, and lieutenant in 1815; selectman of Boston in 1821 ; of the common council in 1825; board of aldermen in 1827 and 1828, and representative to the General Court. He sustained public office with honor to himself, and to the unusual satisfaction of his constituents. In 1822 he was made an honorary member of the Artillery Company. “He was warden of Christ Church [1805–11], but joined the Baptists. While warden, the minister and church members, male and female, met at his house. He had just obtained a demijohn of old wine to compound into medicine, and had unfortunately placed it beside a similar demijohn of ipecac in the shop below. His wife mistook the right vessel, and the whole church were physicked thoroughly before the mistake was discovered.” " He was regularly educated in the apothecary business in the firm of Smith & Bartlett, and opened a store on his own account, Dec. 30, 1797, at the corner of Prince and Salem 'streets, Boston. He bought this estate at the corner of Prince and Salem
Robert Fennelly (1806). AUTHORITIES : * Whitman's Hist. A. and H. A. Company, 2d Whitman's Hist. A. and II. A. Company, Ed. 1842; Ed., p. 371. MS. of Mr. William A. Bowdlear.