« 이전계속 »
streets, for which he paid ten thousand dollars, and his shop was designated by the sign Æsculapius. He was prudent and industrious, and acquired considerable property. He died Sept. 22, 1828, and his funeral the day following was attended by the Boston City Council, Ancient and Honorable Artillery Company, Massachusetts College of Pharmacists, and a long procession of mourning friends. His remains were buried at Mount Auburn. Upon his tombstone is engraved, “Beloved for his many virtues, respected in all his public acts.” The principal portion of his property he bequeathed to his wife. She bequeathed the estate corner of Prince and Salem streets to the Newton Theological Institution, constituting a fund to be forever known as the “Fennelly Fund" She also established several other funds, of one thousand dollars each, in charitable institutions. After his marriage he went with his wife to the Second Baptist Church, but once a year he communed with Christ Church. He was treasurer of the Second Baptist Church at the time of his decease, and had been for seven years.
Henry Fowle (1806), block and pump maker, of Boston, son of Henry and Mary (Patten) Fowle, was born at Medford, Sept. 19, 1766. He married, Nov. 1, 1789, (1) Elizabeth Bentley, who died Jan. 18, 1811; (2) in 1812, Mary Adams, who died June 18, 1814, and, (3) Dec. 1, 1814, Ruthy Skinner, of Charlestown. After attending the public schools, and attempting to learn his father's trade, – that of a tailor, – he went to Boston, and in February, 1783, was apprenticed to Mr. Richard Skillen, to learn the block and pump maker's business. In June, 1788, he began in this business for himself, on Scarlet's Wharf, and continued in it nearly forty years. Feb. 23, 1815, he took his son, Henry, Jr. (1821), into partnership, and in 1827 sold out the business to him.
In 1794, Henry Fowle, Sr. (1806), bought a house in Salutation Lane, where he resided until 1805, when he bought the mansion-house of Rev. Samuel Mather, on Clark Street. In 1829 he moved to Jamaica Plain, but returned Nov. 10, 1830, and lived on South Street, Boston. When twenty-three years of age he received a commission from Gov. Hancock appointing him lieutenant of a military company in Ward No. 1. At the end of four years, “being tired of the military,” he resigned. “However, some years after,” he says in his autobiography, “I was induced to join the Ancient and Honorable Artillery Company . The third year [it was in 1807] I was elected second [third] sergeant, and the year following was requested to accept a lieutenant's commission; but, fearful of the expense, I declined, and the next year, at my own request, was discharged.” He was a fireward in Boston three years; clerk of Ward 1 four years; of Ward 2 three years; a member of the Humane Society, and joined the Massachusetts Charitable Mechanic Association in 1795, but withdrew in 1799. He was very prominent in Masonic matters; active and useful in the organization and extension of Chapter and Templar bodies. “Primus inter pares.” He died March 1 o, 1837.
David Francis (1806), printer and bookseller, of Boston, son of Stephen Francis, was born in Boston in October, 1779. He attended the public schools and obtained the rudiments of an education, which he improved by study and by the experience obtained
Henry Fowle (1806). Authorities: New Vols. XXIV. and XXV.; By-Laws of St. Andrew's Eng. Hist. and Gen. Reg., 1869; Autobiography Chapter. (written in 1833) in Moore's Masonic Magazine, David Francis (1806). Authority: Annals of Mass. Char. Mech. Association.
from an apprenticeship in the printing-office of Belknap & Hall, the printers and publishers of the American AAollo. The publication failed, and Mr. Francis (1806) entered the office of Samuel Hall, a prominent printer and bookseller, where he remained until the age of twenty-one years. He then formed a partnership with Edmund Munroe, — a business connection which lasted until the death of Mr. Francis (1806). His residence was in Williams Court. He was active in the formation of a military company called the “Rangers,” in 1812, and was its lieutenant, chosen at its organization, 1812–14. He was afterward chosen captain, and served from 1815 to 1817 inclusive. He held the office of first sergeant of the Artillery Company in 1809. He was also one of the principal founders of the Faustus Association, a society of printers, organized for the relief of widows and orphans. He united with the Massachusetts Charitable Mechanic Association in 1808, was a trustee from 1814 to 1817, and its secretary from 1817 to 1827, when he was elected a vice-president of that society, but declined. He held the office of Representative in the Legislature from the city of Boston. Capt. Francis (1806) was made an honorary member of the Artillery Company, May 27, 1819, and was honorably discharged May 26, 1827. He was a benevolent, energetic, and reliable man, and died in Boston in March, 1853, aged seventy-four years.
Benjamin Fuller (1806), of Boston, had a shoe store at No. 1 o Marshall's Lane, now Marshall Street, and resided in North Street.
William Howe (1806), tinman, of Boston, was born July 9, 1782, in the mansionhouse of his grandfather, in Marshall's Lane, and was probably a son of Joseph Howe, tin-plate worker, No. 7 Marshall's Lane.
Mr. Howe (1806) first joined the Winslow Blues, and was a promising officer. When a vacancy occurred in the office of captain, by the promotion of Capt. Messinger (1792), Lieut. Howe (1806) failed of promotion to the vacancy on account of his strictness in discipline. He immediately left that corps and joined the Artillery Company. He was first sergeant of the Artillery Company in 1807, ensign in 1812, and its captain in 1814. He was made an honorary member of the Artillery Company in 1822.
Henry Hutchinson (1806), sailmaker, of Boston. Mr. Hutchinson (1806) was admitted a member of the Lodge of St. Andrew, of Boston, in 1803. His sail-loft was on Fish Street, and he lived on Charter Street. Mr. Hutchinson (18o0) died at Boston, July 17, 1833, aged seventy years.
Jonathan Kilham (1806), tailor, of Boston, son of Jonathan and Elizabeth (Davis) Kilham, was born in Wenham, May 15, 1775, and served his apprenticeship in Beverly. In 1796, he came to Boston, and, four years after, formed a partnership with Elijah Mears. The firm of Kilham & Mears, merchant tailors, continued for forty years. Their place of business was in a building which stood on the former site of the Traveler Building, 11 State Street. Mr. Kilham (1806) was a thorough business man,
William Howe (1806). AUTiiokrries: Whit- Jonathan Kilham (1806). Authority: Anman's Hist. A. and H. A. Company, Ed. 1842; Mass. nals of Mass, Char. Mech, Association. Military Rolls.
and highly respected by all. He was a member of the board of health, and held no other public office. He retired from business some years before his decease, enjoying the result of a life of industry and prudence. He died in July, 1855, aged eighty years.
Thomas C. Legate (1806), of Boston. His name is not given in the Boston Directory of 1807.
James Penniman (1806), shopkeeper, of Boston, was fourth sergeant of the Artillery Company in 1809. In 1807 he was engaged in the West India goods trade, on Broad, now Washington, Street.
John Pickens, Jr. (1806), merchant, of Boston.
Andrew Sigourney (1806), merchant, of Boston, son of Andrew Sigourney, of Boston, and nephew of Elisha (1788), was born Nov. 6, 1766. He married, (1) in 1794, Sally Barker, of Nantucket, who died March 20, 1795; and, (2) Oct. 17, 1797, Elizabeth Williams, who died March 19, 1843. He was treasurer of the town of Boston from 1814 to 1820, and of the Artillery Company from 1815 to 1820, and was second sergeant in 1809. He was elected an honorary member of the Artillery Company, May 8, 1812. He was a representative in the General Court from Boston, and being a man of good judgment, peaceful and wise, he found much employment in settling estates and acting in the capacity of executor, guardian, etc. He was much respected in the community. He died suddenly, Aug. 6, 1820." The tomb of Andrew Sigourney (1806) is in Copp's Hill Burial-Ground.
Mr. Sigourney (1806) became a member of St. Andrew's Lodge in 1794, and was its master from 1801 to 1803. He joined St. Andrew's Chapter June 9, 1800, was its treasurer seven years, and honorary membership was conferred upon him Feb. 10, 1813. He was for ten years grand treasurer of the Grand Royal Arch Chapter of Massachusetts, and was grand high priest in 1816 and 1817. He was also treasurer of the Grand Lodge of Massachusetts from 1809 to 1819 inclusive. When he retired from this office in December, 1819, he made a donation of his salary for that year to the charity fund, to be held by the treasurer as trustee, “until the charity fund shall go into operation.” The so-called “Sigourney Fund,” resulting from this generous gift, amounts to six thousand dollars. At the time of his decease he held the office of senior grand warden in the Grand Lodge of Masons in Massachusetts.
Samuel Waldron (1806), housewright, of Boston, was fourth sergeant of the Artillery Company in 1808. He received the Masonic degrees in Mount Lebanon Lodge, of Boston, in 1809.
Friday, April 11, and Monday, May 5, 1806, the Artillery Company, commanded by Major Blanchard (1794), made its usual parades. At the former meeting Rev. James Kendall, of Plymouth, was chosen to deliver the election sermon in June next following. Special meetings were held May 12 and May 18.
Andrew Sigourney (1806). AUTHORITIES: “In this town on Sunday last (Aug. 6, 1820],
Sigourney Genealogy; Records of St. Andrew's deeply and justly regretted by his relations and
Lodge, St. Andrew's Chapter, and Grand Lodge of fellow-citizens, Andrew Sigourney [1806), Esq., for
Massachusetts. many years the faithful and able treasurer of the town.”—Columbian Centimel.
Monday, June 2, 1806, being the anniversary of the election of officers, the Company paraded “in the hall over new Faneuil Hall,” at ten o'clock A. M.; received his Excellency Gov. Strong and guests at twelve o'clock M.; proceeded to the Old Brick Meeting-House, where Rev. Mr. Kendall preached the sermon, after which the Company and guests marched to Faneuil Hall and partook of the dinner. At five o'clock P. M., the Company proceeded to the square on the Common, where the following gentlemen were elected officers for the ensuing year: Mr. William Alexander (1795), captain ; Major Peter Osgood (1797), lieutenant; Mr. William Jepson (1797), ensign; Messrs William Marston (18o3), Jacob Hall (18oz.), John B. Hammatt (18ol), and Levi Melcher (1802), sergeants; Gen. John Winslow (1786), treasurer; Capt. Samuel Todd (1786), superintendent of the armory, and Capt. Thomas Clark (1786), clerk. The Company then escorted the commander-in-chief to the square, and the badges of office were received from the old and presented to the new officers by his Excellency. After review the Company returned to Faneuil Hall.
Monday, Sept. 1, and Oct. 6, 1806, the Artillery Company paraded, and special meetings were held Sept. 22 and Sept. 29.
Gov. Strong offered the following volunteer toast at the dinner: “The Ancient and Honorable Artillery Company. May they ever prove the best citizens in peace and the bravest soldiers in war.” After the toast to the memory of Washington, Mr. Eaton (1796) again sung, —
FROM VERNON'S MOUNT BEHOLD THE HERO RISE.
FROM Vernon's Mount behold the HERO rise,
A laurel wreath th' immortal WARREN bears;
MonTGOMERY's god-like form directs the way,
Rev. James Kendall, D. D., of Plymouth, delivered the Artillery election sermon of 1806. He was a son of James Kendall, of Sterling, Mass., and was born in 1769. He was twice married ; first, to Sarah Poor, and second to Sally Kendall. Mr. Kendall graduated at Harvard College in 1796, and was a tutor in the college at the time of his invitation to settle with the First Church in Plymouth. On the second Sunday of October, 1799, he began to preach on probation, in Plymouth, as the successor of Mr. Robbins, and was ordained Jan 1, 1800. During his entire residence of sixty years in Plymouth he occupied the parsonage in which he died in 1859. He was buried on Burial Hill. The honorary degree of D. D. was conferred upon him by Harvard College in 1825.
Rev. James Kendall, D, D, AUTHORITY; Hurd's Hist, of Plymouth County.
The officers of the Artillery Company elected in 1807 were: Edmund I 807. Bowman (1793), captain; Jonathan Loring, Jr. (1792), lieutenant; Jonathan Whitney (1797), ensign. William Howe (18o0) was first sergeant; Nathaniel Clarke (1805), second sergeant; Henry Fowle (1806), third sergeant; Nathaniel Brown (1805), fourth sergeant; John Winslow (1786), treasurer; Thomas Clark (1786), clerk, and Samuel Todd (1786), armorer. From the “Massachusetts Register” the following list is compiled : Brig.-Gen. Amasa Davis (1786) was quartermaster-general of Massachusetts; Ebenezer Mattoon (1817), major-general, Fourth Division, Massachusetts Volunteer Militia; John Winslow (1786), brigadier-general of Legionary Brigade, First Division; Charles Clement (1795), brigademajor; James Phillips (1790), brigade-quartermaster; Elijah Crane (1819), brigadiergeneral, Second Brigade, First Division, Massachusetts Volunteer Militia; Peter Osgood (1797), major, First Sublegion, Legionary Brigade; Daniel Messinger (1792), major, Sublegion of Light Infantry; John Binney (18o 1), captain, First Battalion, Legionary Brigade, First Division of Artillery; John Roulstone (1812), lieutenant in troop of cavalry; Joseph Loring, Jr. (1793), captain in Sublegion of Light Infantry; George Wheeler (1812), Ezra Davis (18o 1), lieutenants; Nathaniel Brown (1805), quartermaster. Sublegion of Artillery; Thomas Dean (1806), captain, Second Sublegion of Light Infantry; Samuel Curtis (1810), captain, Third Sublegion; Frink Stratton (1811), lieutenant; James B. Marston (1810), lieutenant, and Major William Sullivan (1819), lieutenant in the Independent Cadets. The members of the Artillery Company recruited in 1807 were: William Abrams, Jr., Samuel T. Armstrong, Peter Conant, Jr., Caleb Knight, James R. Knight, Joseph Tucker, Terence Wakefield, George Welles.
William Abrams, Jr. (1807), an accountant, of Boston, who for many years was employed at 29 Middle Street, and resided in Sun Court Street, was a son of William Abrams, grocer, at 15 Middle Street. A William Abrams, Jr., was born in Boston, Aug. 18, 1750; probably he was the grocer.
Samuel Turell Armstrong (18oz.), printer, of Boston and Charlestown, son of John and Elizabeth Armstrong, was born in Dorchester, April 29, 1784, and married, Oct. 1, 1812, Abigail Walker. He was a great-grandson of Samuel Bass (1720).
Samuel T. Armstrong (18o's), having lost his father in very early life, was apprenticed to Manning & Loring, book printers. At the expiration of his apprenticeship he began business in State Street, in connection with Joshua Belcher (1812), and published a periodical called the “Emerald.” This partnership was soon dissolved, and Mr. Armstrong (1807) set up a printing-office in Charlestown, and printed the “Panoplist,” devoted to religious matters. He removed to Boston in 1811, and became a prosperous publisher and bookseller at No. 5o Cornhill, now Washington Street. He continued the publication of the “Panoplist,” and published large editions of popular religious works. His industry was untiring, his energy and perseverance were indefatigable, and his profits sure and increasing. He retired from business, when comparatively a young man, with a property worth over one hundred thousand dollars. He united with the
Samuel T. Armstrong (1807), AUTitoRI- New Eng. Hist, and Gen. Reg., 1861, 1890, 1894; ties: Whitman's Hist. A. and II. A. Company, Ed. Ilill's Ilist. of Old South Church. 1842; Annals of Mass. Char. Mech. Association;