페이지 이미지

The officers of the Artillery Company elected in 1739 were : Caleb Lyman I739. (1732), captain; Erasmus Stevens (1720), lieutenant; William Nichols (1727), ensign. Ebenezer Storer (1732) was first sergeant; Edward Vail (1733), second sergeant; John Symmes (1733), third sergeant; Samuel Pratt (1734), fourth sergeant; Nathaniel Thayer (1734), clerk, and Bartholomew Gedney (1726), clerk's assistant. The committee of six persons who had charge of the erection of the workhouse (four of whom, Edward Hutchinson [1702], Jacob Wendell [1733], Samuel Sewall [1720], Daniel Henchman [1712], were members of the Company) reported to the town, July 27, 1739, that the workhouse begun in 1737 was completed and ready to be occupied. Hon. Jacob Wendell (1733), for the overseers of the poor, presented for the town's approval a body of orders for the regulation of the workhouse, which, after amendment as proposed by Hon. Edward Hutchinson (1702), were adopted by the town. Sept. 14, 1739, a committee of five persons, three of whom—Nathaniel Cunningham (1720), chairman, Edward Winslow (17oo), and Samuel Sewall (1720) — were members of the Company, was chosen to memorialize “the Great and General Court” in regard to the prospect of a war, and the defenceless condition of the town. Sept. 18 the memorial was presented to the town by Capt. Cunningham (1720), and was accepted. The committee was so painstaking as to be tendered the thanks of the town. Mr. Christopher Kilby, representative to the General Court, having been chosen agent for the House of Representatives to the court of Great Britain, an election was held, Dec. 10, 1739, to fill the vacancy in the Boston delegation in the House. Capt. Nathaniel Cunningham (1720), “by a great majority of votes,” was chosen to take Mr. Kilby's place. The members of the Artillery Company recruited in 1739 were: James Butler, Thomas Edes, John Franklin, Samuel Goodwin, Ralph Hartt, Samuel Salter, Jr., Thomas Savage, William Simpkins, John Storer, John Waldo.

James Butler (1739), of Boston, goldsmith, son of James and Abigail Butler, was born in Boston, Dec. 4, 1713, and married, (1) May 17, 1739, Elizabeth Davie, and (2) Wakefield. He was chosen a constable of Boston in 1743, but, refusing to serve, paid the fine. He was fourth sergeant of the Artillery Company in 1743, and held the office of captain in the militia. About 1750, he moved from Boston to Halifax, N. S., but his enterprise proving unfortunate he soon returned to Boston. He afterward lived for a while in Sutton, Mass., but died in Boston, in 1776, aged sixty-three years, and was buried in the Granary Burial-Ground.

Thomas Edes (1739), of Boston, a baker, son of Edmund and Susanna Edes, of Boston, was born in Boston, April 11, 1715. He married, Dec. 21, 1738, Sarah Larabee, born July 12, 1719, whose father, Capt. John Larabee, was for fifty years, 1712–62, commander of Castle William.

Ensign Thomas Edes' (1739) was elected a clerk of the market in 1742–3, but declined to serve, and paid the fine. In 1747, he was elected town constable.

Aug. 26, 1765, during the Stamp Act troubles, a mob attacked and destroyed the

" Whitman says, “Ensign Thomas Edes was a printer.” Thomas Edes, leather-dresser, of Charlestown, brother of Benjamin (1760), printer, of Boston, was born in 1737. See Wyman's Charlestown, Vol. I.

mansion of Gov. Thomas Hutchinson. The governor's family escaped, and took refuge “with his sister, at the house of Dr. Samuel Mather in Moon Street.” “The mob, however, demanded his person, and he was compelled to retreat by a back way to the house of Thomas Edes [1739], a baker, guided by little Hannah Mather, as she herself relates. Here he remained during the night, returning to his brother's house to breakfast.” " He was second sergeant of the Artillery Company in 1744, and ensign in 1762. Ensign Thomas Edes (1739) died in September, 1794, aged seventy-nine years, and was buried from the house of his son, Edward, “near the North Grammar School.”

John Franklin (1739), tallow-chandler, of Boston, son of Josiah and Abiah (Folger) Franklin, and eldest brother of Benjamin Franklin, was born in Boston (baptized), Dec. 7, 1690. He learned his trade in his father's shop, and afterward pursued the same business in Newport, R.I., and Boston. He married (about 1716) Elizabeth Gooch, and “had but one son, John, lost at sea, a young man grown.” Benjamin was apprenticed to his brother James, a printer, in 1718. The two years previous he had assisted his father. This assistance became more important because, in 1717, John Franklin (1739) “married and removed to Rhode Island, where he set up for himself as a soap and candle maker.” How long he remained in Newport is not stated, but, in 1724, the sloop in which Benjamin Franklin left Boston touched at Newport, “where then lived his brother John, who had been his shopmate while he had helped his father at candlemaking, six or seven years before. His brother, who had always loved him, received him very affectionately.” In 1722–3, James Franklin, brother of John and Benjamin, was forbidden by the General Court to print or publish the New England Courant, or any pamphlet or paper of a like nature, except it be first supervised by the secretary of the province. It was claimed that the tendency of his newspaper, the Courant, was to make light of religion. James, therefore, moved to Newport, R.I., and established the first printing-press in that plantation. Probably the fact that John (1739) lived there was the reason that James selected Newport as his home.

John Franklin (1739) was in Boston in 1729–30, when he was sworn as constable. May 14, 1751, he was elected an overseer of the poor, and Feb. 5, 1752, made the annual visitation of the town with the justices, selectmen, and others. When Benjamin Franklin became postmaster-general in 1753, he appointed his brother John (1739) postmaster of Boston, a position which he held until his decease, Jan. 30, 1756. When he died, Benjamin Franklin wrote to one who mourned him : “He who plucks out a tooth, parts with it freely, since the pain goes with it: and he who quits the whole body, parts at once with all pains and possibilities of pains and diseases which it was liable to, or capable of making him suffer. Our friend and we were invited abroad on a party of pleasure, which is to last forever. His chair was ready first, and he is gone before us. We could not all conveniently start together, and why should you and I be grieved at this, since we are soon to follow, and know where to find him?”

John Franklin (1739). AUTHORITIES: New he was working there as a journeyman printer; and, Eng. Hist. and Gen. Reg., January, 1857, and April, on his return to America, he gave it to his brother 1880; Parton's Life and Times of Benjamin Frank- John [1739], of Rhode Island, the companion of lin, Vol. I., pp. 51, 53; Bridgman's Pilgrims of his candle-making days.”— Parton's Life and Times Samuel Goodwin (1739), cooper, of Charlestown, son of John and Lydia (Sprague) Goodwin, was born in Boston, March 16, 1716–7. He married, (1) Feb. 15, 1738–9, in Boston, Elizabeth Willard, who died May 1, 1764; (2) Sept. 25, 1765, Mary Birch, and, (3) Nov. 13, 18oo, Rebecca Jepson. He had seven children, and, dying in November, 1802, aged eighty-six years, was buried the 2d of December following. His will, dated June 4, 1801, was probated May 3, 1803. From 1741 to 1773, he was taxed in Charlestown. His father left him, by will, in 1753, a lot forty by one hundred feet, on Southac (Howard) Street, Boston, which in 1736 cost seventy pounds.

Boston, p. 323. of Benjamin Franklin, Vol. J., p. 212.
“The earliest portrait we have of [Benjamin] “Elizabeth Franklin sells at the Post Office in

Franklin exhibits him attired in the extreme of the Boston, Genuine Crown Soap, Candles, Cheese, &c.”

fashion of that day, except that he wears no sword — Advertisement in Boston /apers, May 7, 1764.

at his side. It was taken in London in 1726, when ' Drake's Old Landmarks of Boston, p. 166.

May 1o, 1738, he was chosen a viewer and culler of staves in Boston, and was re-elected March 15, 1742, but was not sworn the latter year. During most of his life he resided in Charlestown, in the records of which he is given the title of “Major.”

Ralph Hartt (1739), mast maker, of Boston, son of Samuel and Abigail Hartt, of Lynn, was born in Lynn, June 12, 1699. He married, (I) Nov. 27, 1722, Mary Hudson, who died Aug. 2, 1733, and, (2) Jan. 8, 1733–4, Lois Rowland (Boston records) or Rowling (Lynn records). He had settled in Boston prior to his second marriage, as he took out, at the town clerk's office in Boston, marriage papers on Dec. 12, 1733. His wife, Lois, died Nov. 5, 1751.

Ralph Hartt (1739) was elected a constable in Boston, March 10, 1735-6, which seems to be the only town office he ever held. In 1754 he commanded the Ancient and Honorable Artillery Company. His son, Zephaniah, joined the Artillery Company in 1765. Mr. Hartt (1739) lived, as also his son, on Charter Street.

Feb. 28, 1742, Gov. William Shirley commissioned Ralph Hartt (1739) as “lieutenant in the foot company in the town of Boston, under the command of Capt. Samuel Rand [1720], in the regiment of militia within the county of Suffolk whereof Jacob Wendell, Esq. [1733], is colonel.” He was captain of a militia company, the same regiment, in Boston, in 1750. He made “the general walk or visitation” of the town, with the justices and others, Feb. 1 1, 1756, Feb. 16, 1762, and Feb. 21, 1763.

Capt. Edmund Hartt, who built the famous frigates “Constitution ” and “Boston,” and many of the best ships of his day, was a nephew of Capt. Ralph (1739). The Hartt family were the first widely known shipwrights. For several generations they were identified with the ship-building interests of the country. At one time, seven members of the family were naval constructors at different ship-yards in the United States. The descendants of Edmund bought and occupied the “Hartt House,” so called, Nos. 24 and 26 Hull Street.

He died March 14, 1776, aged seventy-seven years, and was buried in Copp's Hill Burial-Ground.

Samuel Salter, Jr. (1739), of Boston, son of Samuel and Sarah Salter, was born in Boston, April 25, 17 Io. He does not appear to have held any town office.

Samuel Goodwin (1739). AUTHORITIES : Porter; New Eng. Hist. and Gen. Reg., 1848, Wyman's Charlestown Genealogies and Estates, p. 391. Vol. I., p. 422; Boston Records. A copy of the commission of Ralph Hartt Ralph Hartt (1739). AUTHORITIES: Boston (1739) as lieutenant in the militia is printed in Records; Rambles in Old Boston, N. E., by E. G. Bridgman's Copp's Hill Burial-Ground, pp. 204, 205. Thomas Savage (1739), merchant, of Boston, second son of Lieut.-Col. Habijah Savage (1699), was born in Boston, Jan. 5, 171 o. He married, June 26, 1735, Deborah Briggs, and died Dec. 19, 1760.

He served the town as constable in 1735, clerk of the market in 1737, purchaser of grain in 1748–9 and as fireward in 1756, 1757, and 1758. He made the general visitation of the town in 1754, 1755, and 1756. Under the date of July 12, 1758, in the “account of beds carried to sundry places in the town for the use of the King's troops now in the town,” it is recorded in the town books, “To Capt. Savage's house, 5o.” He was a member of the Boston militia, and was promoted to be captain in 1756. “He was the grandfather of the learned antiquary of New England.” He served as first sergeant of the Ancient and Honorable Artillery Company in 1744, ensign in 1752, lieutenant in 1755, and captain in 1757. The inventory of his estate was more than seven thousand pounds, lawful currency, his real estate at the North End and Long Wharf being valued at more than two thousand pounds.

William Simpkins (1739), goldsmith, of Boston, married, May 14 or 16, 1726, Elizabeth, daughter of William and Elizabeth (Langdon) Symmes. His son, John, joined the Artillery Company in 1769. He was elected a constable March 15, 1742–3, but declined to serve, and paid the fine. He was third sergeant of the Artillery Company in 1743, and its ensign in 1757.

John Storer (1739), of Charlestown, son of Col. Joseph and Hannah (Hill) Storer, was born at Wells, District of Maine, Sept. 6, 1694. He was the eldest brother of Ebenezer Storer (1732), who was born June 4, 1699, in the fort at Saco. Capt. John (1739) married Mary Bassett, widow of Nehemiah, of Charlestown, Nov. 8, 1736. They resided in Charlestown, where she joined the First Church, April 9, 1738, and in that town, prior to 1739, two children were born to them. He was captain of the Third Company, First Massachusetts Regiment, in the expedition against Louisburg. He is not mentioned in the records of the town of Boston.

John Waldo (1739), merchant, of Boston, was published to marry Elizabeth Waldo, March 17, 1729, and to marry Hannah Gold, Sept. 12, 1732.

He was a constable of Boston in 1738, and was re-elected in 1749, but declined to serve. He signed the memorial to the General Court, Dec. 19, 1760. “This petition,” says Drake, “signed by the principal business men, shows the head and front of the opposition to the crown officials.” It hastened the crisis of which President Adams said, “Here began the Revolution.”

In 1720, a division occurred in the New North Church which resulted in the withdrawal of a number of its members and the formation of another church, called the “New Brick,” which, in May, 1779, united with the Second Church in Boston. A John Waldo was a member of the New North Church, but active in the formation of the Old Brick Church.

Thomas Savage (1739). AUTHoRITIEs: Bos- Charlestown Genealogies and Estates, Vol. II.; New ton Records; Whitman's Hist. A. and H. A. C. m- Eng. Hist, and Gen. Reg., 1870 and 1871. pany, Ed. 1842. John Waldo (1739). Authorities: Boston

John Storer (1739). AUTHORITIEs: Wyman's Records; Drake's Hist. of Boston.

The record of the Artillery Company for 1739 is as follows: — “ 1739, Memo. April 2d. This day being appointed by Charter for the exercise of the Honorable Artillery Company, it proving unseasonable weather was put by according to said Charter till the next Friday, and then met, it being the 6th of April, 1739. The Company being under arms made choice of the Rev. Mr. Samuel Mather to preach the next Artillery sermon; and that the present commission officers, with the field officers, be a committee to request it of him ; returned that it was accepted by him. “May 7th, 1739. Voted, that the present commission officers be desired to wait on Capt. Wm. Downe [1716] and desire him to prepare the account relating to what he has received and paid, and lay it before the Company on the election evening. “June 4th, 1739. The Company being under arms, voted that the present commission officers of the Company, with those to be now elected, and the field officers of the Regiment of the town of Boston, be a committee to wait on the Rev. Mr. Samuel Mather, and give him the thanks of this Company for the sermon preached to them this day; and in the evening after lodging the Colours, voted that the above committee ask of Mr. Mather a copy of his sermon for the press; and that it be printed at the charge of the Company; and that his Excellency, the Governour, with every member of the General Assembly, have each a sermon given to them, and that two sermons be printed for each member of the Company, and that Capt. Daniel Henchman [1712] have the care of printing the same. Voted, that the commission officers, elected this day, with those of the last year, with the clerks of the same, be a committee to consider the state of the Rules and Orders, whereby the Company regulates themselves; and also of the Company's Books, and lay their sentiment before the Company at the training in September next for their consideration.”

Rev. Samuel Mather, of Boston, delivered the Artillery election sermon in 1739. He was the son of Rev. Cotton Mather and his wife Elizabeth, daughter of Dr. John Clark and widow, of Richard Hubbard. He was born Oct. 30, 1706. He graduated at Harvard College in 1723, and in 1732 was called to be colleague with Rev. Mr. Gee at the Second Church. After colaboring for nine years, differences arose between the ministers and between Mr. Mather and a majority of the church. They resulted in the dismissal of Mr. Mather and the division of the church. Ninety-three members followed him, and organized the Tenth Congregational Church in Boston. A meetinghouse was erected on the corner of North Bennet and Hanover streets, and the admirers of Mr. Samuel Mather worshipped there until his decease in 1785. The meeting-house

Rev. Samuel Mather. AUTHORITIES: Mass. And it is doubted by some, who have made it their

Hist. Collection, Vol. III.; Sprague's Annals of
American Pulpit, Vol. I., p. 371; Robbins' Hist. of
Second Church, Boston.
* Extracts from sermon by Rev. Samuel Mather,
M. A., “preached to the Ancient and Honourable
Artillery Company on June 4, 1739": —
“Fire Arms have now superseded many of the
Ancient Weapons, and obtain'd the Preeminence
before the Lance and Pike, the 13ow and Arrow, the
Dart, Javelin, Sling and other offensive Weapons.
“The first Inventor of Guns in Europe was a
Monk, named Berthold Schuvart, a considerable
Alchymist, who liv'd in the Year of our Lord thirteen
hundred and eighty. Tho' some affirm the Hand-
Gun or Musket was never used until the Siege of
Rhegium in the year fifteen hundred and twenty.

Business to enquire into such Things whether it be
so old; For about the Year fifteen hundred and sixty
some Muskets and but a very few of them were
mix'd with Harquebusses: So that, according to
this, it must have bin forty Years before the Hand-
Gun had learned to speak.
“These Hand-Guns or Muskets have from the
Time of their first Invention bin of various Lengths
and Bores: But it is proper to observe here, that it
is always fit the Muskets of our Army and of our
State or Kingdom should be exactly of one Bore.
“Besides these Muskets, there are now other
Weapons for the Foot, such as Touks, Shables, two
handed Swords, Hangmen's Swords, Javelins, Morn-
ing Stars, Rapiers; most of which are rather for the
Defence of Batteries, Forts and Towns than for

« 이전계속 »