« 이전계속 »
Money statement. July 1, 1881, amount available
$9,980 98 July 1, 1882, amount expended during fiscal year, exclusive of outstanding liabilities July 1, 1881
3, 449 95 July 1, 1882, amount available....
6,531 03 Amount appropriated by act passed August 2, 1882.
10, 000 00 Amount available for fiscal year ending June 30, 1883.
IMPROVEMENT OF CATHANCE RIVER, MAINE.
The following appropriations have been made by Congress for the improvement of this river, to wit: By the river and harbor act of June 14, 1880.
$10,000 00 By the river and harbor act of March 3, 1881
6, 000 00 By the river and harbor act of August 2, 1882
5, 000 00
21, 000 00 The head of navigation of this river is at the bridge at Bowdoinham, Me., from which to its outlet into Merrymeeting Bay (a distance of about 23 miles) the river has a navigable channel of not less than 19 feet depth at mean low water, or 241 feet at mean high-water. From its outlet into the bay the channel continues in an indirect course, with depths varying from 26 to 6 feet at mean low-water, for a distance of about 23 miles to its junction with the main channel of Kennebec River near "The Chops.” The principal obstruction to its navigation was found by the special survey of 1879 to be at “the outer bar” where the channel enters the Kennebec, on the shoalest part of which there was but 6 feet of water at mean low-water, or 114 feet at mean high-water. But owing to the shifting character of this bar it was not believed that any work, unless attended by a cost too great to be warranted by the object of the improvement, would effect a permanent improvement of the channel at this place. At the other two shoals lying between “the outer bar” and the outlet of the river into the bay, it is believed that the channel can be widened and deepened in a more effectual and satisfactory manner. A channel with a depth of 10 feet at mean low-water (or 154 feet at mean high-water) for a width of not less than 200 feet has been projected for the improvement of this river, at an estimated cost of $25,000.
Under the appropriation made in June, 1880, a contract was made August 21, 1880, with Mr. William W. Wright, of Geneva, N. Y.-the lowest of two bidders—for 30,000 cubic yards, more or less, of dredging, at 27 cents per cubic yard, measured in scows. Dredging was commenced under this contract on the 1st of September and completed on the 8th of November, 1880, resulting in 31,347 cubic yards, whereby the channel was widened and deepened at “the outer bar” to the extent projected, and at the lower portion of Bar III for a width of 100 feet to a depth of 10 feet at mean low-water.
Under the appropriation of $6,000, made by the act of March 3, 1881, a contract was made June 14, 1881, with the Eastern Dredging Company, of Portland, Me.—the lowest of three bidders—for 25,000 cubic yards, more or less, of dredging, at 21 cents per cubic yard, measured in scows.
Under this contract 27,922 cubic yards of dredging was done, in completion of the same on the 22d of October, 1881, whereby the channel through the lower portion of Bar No. 3 has been deepened for an additional width of 30 feet, making an aggregated width thus far opened of 130 feet; and that through the upper portion of the same bar has been opened to an average width of 125 feet.
It is proposed to apply the appropriation of $5,000 made for the fiscal year ending June 30, 1883, to the completion of this work by the further improvement of the channel at the outer bar” near The Chops."
Catbance River is within the collection district of Bath, Me., of which Bath is the port of entry. The works of improvement are situated from 3 to 5 miles above Bath. The nearest light-houses are Seguin and Pond Island, near the mouth of the Kennebec River, and the nearest Fort is Fort Popham, at the mouth of Kennebec River, distant about 20 miles below the mouth of Cathance River.
The extent to which the commerce and navigation of the country would be benefited by the improvement of this channel is shown to some extent by the following statement, furnished through the United States collector of customs at Bath by residents of Bowdoinham, as follows, viz:
The people interested are the towns of Bowdoinham and Bowdoin, to enable them to ship their cargoes in vessels of large size and deeper draught of water. The cargoes outward, now shipped in schooners and scows, are chiefly spruce lumber, deals, frame stuff, &c., say 2,500,000 feet, which would be doubled if we could load a ship here, say 1,000 tons ground feldspar rock, 500 tons quartz rock, 100,000 bricks, hay, wood, and bark; inward, say 1,000 tons anthracite coal, 500 tons plaster, rock, &c. Since 1850 twenty vessels, having an aggregate of 17,000 tons, have been built on the banks of Cathance River.
It is also stated that a large quantity of ice is cut and stored on this river for shipment; that in 1863 about 50,000 tons were cut and stored, but not all shipped, as vessels of sufficient size could not pass the bar.
Money statement. July 1, 1881, amount available.
$6,540 31 July 1, 1882, amount expended during fiscal year, exclusive of outstanding liabilities July 1, 1881....
6,481 64 July 1, 1881, amount available....
58 67 Amount appropriated by act passed August 2, 1882.
5, 000 00 Amount available for fiscal year ending June 30, 1883.....
IMPROVEMENT AT THE “GUT” OPPOSITE BATH, MAINE.
The “Gut” is a part of Back River, which is á'tidal river about 9 miles in length, connecting the Kennebec River at Bath, Me., with the tide-waters of Sheepscot River to the eastward of it. It is navigable for small steamers and other vessels of light draught, and affords a short communication between Kennebec River and the towns of Westport, Wiscasset, Boothbay, Southport, and other places on or near the waters of the Sheepscot. At the “Gut” (or more commonly called “Upper Hell Gate'), which is about 2 miles distant from the city of Bath, the navigation of Back River was very much improved in its difficult places under appropriations made therefor by Congress in 1870 and 1871, amounting to $16,500, as stated in the Annual Report of 1873; and for its further improvement the following appropriations have since been made by Congress, viz: By the river and harbor act of June 18, 1878....
$17,000 By the river and harbor act of June 14, 1880.
7,000 By the river and harbor act of March 3, 1881.
5, 000 Total
29,000 These appropriations have been made with a view to opening a navigable channel with a depth of not less than 11 feet at mean low-water above "The Narrows," and 12 feet below "The Narrows” for a width of not less than 90 feet, by the breaking up and removal of the several sunken ledges and shoals by which the channel has hitherto been obstructed.
On referring to the last Annual Report it will be seen that all the projected improvements had then been completed except the breaking up and removal of the sunken ledges C and D (north of Green Island), the ledge marked G, near Tibbett's Point, and the ledge E, near the head of "The Narrows," contracts for all of which had been made.
In October last the removal of the sunken ledges C and D was completed to grade by Mr. James Andrews, under his contract of Lune 26, 1880, the aggregate quantity removed under said contract being 1851 cubic yards.
On the 20th of October last Mr. George W. Townsend, of Boston, Mass., completed the breaking up and removal to grade of ledge G, near Tibbett's Point (62.8 cubic yards), under his contract of June 16, 1881, when work was suspended for the winter.
On the 1st of June, 1882, Mr. Townsend commenced work for the breaking up and removal of about 57 cubic yards of ledge E, near the head of "The Narrows," under his contract of June 16, 1881, which is all the work that now remains to be done for completing the projected improvement of this channel. This work will probably be finished in August next.
This locality lies in the collection district of Batlı, Me., of which Bath is the port of entry, and is distant about 2 miles from Bath. The nearest light-houses are Pond Island and Seguin lights, near the mouth of Kennebec River, and the nearest fort is Fort Topham, at the mouth of that river, and distant about 15 miles.
The following information in regard to the revenue and commerce of the district of Bath for the year ending December 31, 1881, bas been furnished by the United States collector of customs at that port : Gross customs receipts...
$123, 769 50 Of which there was rebated for the construction and repair of vessels.... 47, 591 22
76, 178 28
Number of vessels arrived, 1,915.
Money statement. July 1, 1881, amount available...
$10,318 92 July 1, 1882, amount expended during fiscal year, exclusive of outstanding liabilities July 1, 1881.
$7,141 09 July 1, 1862, outstanding liabilities
7,357 17 July 1, 1882, amount available.....
IMPROVEMENT OF PORTLAND HARBOR, MAINE.
In the Annual Reports for the fiscal years ending June 30, 1880 and 1881, will be found a history of all the appropriations made and all the work done for the improvement of tliis harbor up to the 1st of July, 1881 ; and that there was then available for the further improvement of this harbor the sum of $46,700.69, which was being applied to the partial removal of the middle ground, in the lower part of the harbor, to a depth of 21 feet at mean low-water (or about 30 feet at mean high-water) under a contract made May 14, 1881, with Messrs. George C. Fobes & Co., of Baltimore, Md., at 17 cents per cubic yard, measured in scows. Under this contract 19,518 cubic yards had been removed up to the 1st of July, 1881. Dredging was continued up to the 3d of February, 1882, under the same contract, during which period 249,428 cubic yards of additional dredging was done, making an aggregate of 268,946 cubic yards under and in completion of said contract.
The original estimate of the removal of this middle ground” called for about 660,000 cubic yards of dredging measured in situ, or about 750,000 measured in scous.
It is proposed to apply the appropriation of $35,000 made by the river and harbor act of August 2, 1882, to the further removal of the “ Middle Ground," of which about 500,000 cubic yards now remain to be done, at an estimated cost of $110,000, an additional sum of $75,000 being re. quired for its completion.
All the works completed and projected for the improvement of this harbor are in the collection district of Portland and Falmouth, Me., and the nearest forts are forts Gorges, Scammel, apd Preble, and that on Portland Head; the nearest light-houses -are one at the extremity of the breakwater and one at Portland Head.
The following information in regard to the revenue and commerce of this port for the year ending December 31, 1881, has been furnished by the United States collector of customs, viz: Amount of revenue collected...
$558, 609 51 Value of exportations
11, 907, 671 00 Value of importations
10,410, 384 00
American vessels arrived from foreign ports
74, 179 239 126, 073 540 425,712 420 396,714
5 2, 087.10
3, 343 1, 606 3, 085 8, 884 8,335
$46, 700 69 liabilities July 1, 1881..
45, 519 23 July 1, 1882, amount available.... Amount appropriated by act passed August 2, 1882
35, OCO 00 Amount available for fiscal year ending June 30, 1883..
36, 181 46 Amount (estimated) required for completion of existing project Amount that can be profitably expended in fiscal year ending June 30, 1884.
75, 000 00 75, 000 00
IMPROVEMENT OF RICHMOND'S ISLAND HARBOR, MAINE.
This harbor of refuge is formed by a rubble-stone breakwater connecting the island with the mainland, the breakwater being about 2,000 feet in length, with an average thickness of 30 feet and a height of 10 feet above mean low-water.
The following appropriations have been made by Congress for this work, viz: By the river and barbor act of June 10, 1872. By the river and harbor act of March 3, 1873.
60,000 By the river and harbor act of Marth 3, 1875.
15,000 By the river and harbor act of June 18, 1878.
6, 000 By the river and harbor act of March 3, 1879
3,000 By the river and harbor act of June 14, 1880.
3, 000 By the river and harbor act of March 3, 1851.
3,000 Total ......
110,000 Under the several appropriations made as above in 1872–80, an ag. gregate of about 66,157 gross tons of rubble-stone have been furnished and placed in the breakwater by contract.
Under the appropriation of $3,000 made for this work by the river and harbor act of March 3, 1881, a contract was made June 10, 1881, with Mr. Charles H. Bragdon, of Biddeford, Me., the lowest of three bidders, for 2,000 tons, more or less, of “granite quarry grout” to be furnished and placed in the breakwater, at $1.28 per ton of 2,240 pounds. On the 29th of June he commenced to deliver the stone, and on the 9th of Sep. tember he completed his contract, by having furnished and placed in the work an aggregate of about 2,020 tons of “granite quarry grout," making a total of 68,1761348 tons of stone furnished and placed in the breakwater in completion of the same.
Money statement. July 1, 1881, amount available...
$3,092 82 July 1, 1882, amount expended during fiscal year, exclusive of outstandirig liabilities July 1, 1831..
3, 092 82
IMPROVEMENT OF KENNEBUNK RIVER, MAINE. By an act of Congress of 1798 provision was made for keeping in repair a pier, built at the mouth of this river, for the improvement of its navigation, and by several subsequent acts, from 1829 to 1852, appropriations amounting to $41,175 were made for continuing the improvements at and near its mouth.
These works consisted of1. A stone pier, about 600 feet in length, on the western side of the channel, at the mouth of the river, with a light-house (since destroyed by storms) on its outer extremity, and a wooden catch-sand, about 160 feet in length, leading from the inner end of the pier to the eastern bank of the river. This pier and catch-saud served to protect the entrance from easterly storms, as well as to prevent the sand from being driven into the channel above.