« 이전계속 »
the town under the delusion of his imagination. When reason returned, he was convinced that he had been frightened from his post, not by the prince of darkness, but by a black cat! For many years after this occurrence, the inhabitants of Sunderland cracked their jokes upon it at the expense of poor Dunn, who died in 1850, when upwards of 80 years of age.
Another walled battery, mounting six twenty-four pounders, was erected about 1783, upon the Coney Warren on the east side of the barracks. This battery was partly washed away by the sea on its southern and eastern sides, and the remainder entirely removed by the Dock Company in 1848.
About seventy yards to the south-east of the lastnamed battery, was an open platform with two twentylour pounders mounted upon it, named the Flag Staff battery, from the Flag Staff or Beacon in its locality. The site of this battery, which also occupied a part of the Coney Warren, was swept away by the sea about 1808.
Upon the waste at the extreme south end of the Town Moor, adjoining the road leading to the Dock, on the south side of the "White Wall" a platform was erected about 1783, upon which stood two cannons, twenty-four pounders. The site of this platform was many years ago swallowed up by the sea.
These batteries were all within the parish of Sunderland. To complete the line of defence there were other two little fortifications on the south side of the river Wear, but within the township of Bishopwearmouth. For the sake of continuity we think it advisable to describe them here.
Upon the sea bank a little to the south of Hendon Bath Hotel a platform was erected in 1803, during the wars of the French revolution, upon which two heavy pieces of cannon were placed having the words " Hendon Bay" painted in conspicuous letters upon their carriages. And upon the adjoining Blue House estate, (then the property of James Jackson, Esq., of Eppleton Hall, of the firm of Messrs. Goodchilds, Jacksons, and Company, bankers, Sunderland,) a little to the southward, was another open platform, mounting two twenty-four pounders. Old Neptune undermined, stormed, and utterly annihilated these fortresses long ago.
Early in 1857, the Mayor and Town Clerk of Sunderland were in London, on business relating to the borough, when they made application to Lord Panmure, the Secretary-at-War, for two Russian guns captured at Sebastopol, to be placed in the public park at Bildon Hill. Lord Panmure having acceded to the request, the Town Council of Sunderland approved of the act of the Mayor and Town Clerk, and ordered the guns to be brought from the Royal Arsenal at Woolwich to Sunderland with as little delay as possible. This order of the Council was heartily responded to by all her Majesty's loyal subjects and lovers of their country in this important borough; and on the 5th of May, a London trader, the "Linton," with the guns on board, came alongside of Holmes' Wharf, when the following requisition from the inhabitants, professing all shades of politics, was got up and presented to the Mayor, George Smith Ranson, Esq., who immediately took steps to secure the object proposed, by publicly expressing his desire that bis fellow-townsmen should so honour the occasion,
TO THE RIGHT WORSHIPFUL THE MAYOR OF THE BOROUGH OF SUNDERLAND.
WE, the undersigned, being inhabitants of this Borough, duly appreciating the step you have taken in procuring, through Lord Panmure (the Secretary-at-War), TWO RUSSIAN GUNS taken in the Crimea, to be placed in our Public Park, respectfully request you will call a
HALF-HOLIDAY On the day they are removed from the Wharf to the place at the Park appointed for their reception : Joseph Simpson.
T. C. Gray. H. Tanner.
C. G. Lamotte.
St. John Crookes.
Bligh Peacock Nathan Horn.
James Peacock. John Hay.
Matthew Robson, Jun. H. R. Webster.
T. E. Ward & Co. William Stobart.
George Garbutt. Wm. Hay.
T. and M. Reed. C.T. Potts.
G. H. & C. Gowland. John Bell.
John Wilson. John Taylor.
William Morgan Wake, W. S. Coulson.
John Cox. Robert Clay.
Robert French. George Green & Son. John Croudace. George Rochester, Jun. Matt. B. Robson. John Thompson.
James Hamilton. F. Charleton Huntley & Co. H. A. Bentham. Thomas Gray.
William Carling. Geo. Harrison.
Jas. and P. Sharer. Arthur W. Dixon
Young and Proud,
In compliance with the above request, I, the under signed most respectfully desire my fellow townsmen U accede to the wishes expressed in the requisition, an( beg leave to inform them that the Two Russian Guns presented to the town of Sunderland, will be placed ir the position where they are intended to remain in the Public Park,
On Monday, The 11th Day Of May, 1857,
At half past One o'Clock in the Afternoon.
Mayor's Chamber, Sunderland, 8th May, 1857.
The half-holiday was well observed by the loyal inhabitants of the borough, and at the appointed hour the guns mounted on carriages, manufactured at the ironworks of Mr. Aid. Stainton, South Shields, at the ex-" pense of the Mayor, each drawn by six horses, reached the summit of the Park when a royal salute was fired from two small pieces of cannon; after which, Mr. De Lacy's band played the national anthem. Suitable addresses were delivered by the Mayor and Mr. Alderman Allison, the chairman of the public grounds committee, enthusiastic cheers were given for the Queen, the Mayor, Henry Fenwick, Esq., M.P., and Mr. Alderman Allison; and the assembled thousands dispersed. The following is the inscription on the stone pedestals on which the guns are placed.
GEORGE SMITH RANSON,