페이지 이미지
PDF
ePub

Bank-protection at Portage City.
Scows built, 45 feet long...
Steam-scows built....

2,475

4 3

One of the latter was built to replace the hull of the old steam-scow; the old hull was applied to the United States quarter-boat, which had been used on the survey in 1567.

The steam-scows are flat-bottom boats, 75 feet long, 164 feet beam, and 44 inches deep, with pointed bow, square stern, stern-wheel, and draw, light, 12 inches aft, and 3 inches forward.

Sunimary statement of work done to December 1, 1873: Total pumber of dams built

94 Total number of linear feet.

38,517 To al number of linear feet-bank-protection..

2,475 Scows built, 70 feet long

4 Scows built, 45 feet long.

6 Steanı-scows built....

4 Quarter-boat built.

1 River-scrapers built

3 1 quarter-boat hull, replaced by hull of first steam scow,

[ocr errors]

The following will show the amount of rock and brusli used in construction of dams per 100 feet length:

[blocks in formation]

Cost of labor, material, boat-hire, &c., expended on the improvement of the Wisconsin River during the season of 1873.

[blocks in formation]
[blocks in formation]

$879 00 $1, 116 50 $1,122 50 $1, 132 00 $1,054 50 $1,035 00 $1,054 50 $450 00 $450 00 $9, 614 00

540 00 1, 125 00 1, 170 00 1, 170 00 1, 170 00 585 00

5, 760 00 95 00 302 34 349 87 502 18 503 50 411 12 290 62

2, 454 63 317 99 590 99 665 00 655 66 673 00 700 00 691 00

4, 319 64
58 50 150 17 189 90 206 12 224 12 230 85 232 49

1, 292 15
1, 650 69 3, 869 03 4, 094 24 4,531 66 612 37 4, 531 83 2,914 16 260 00 239 00 27, 552 48
104 85 56 66 94 58 627 09 200 87 198 51 190 12 7 00

1, 479 68
2, 397 98 4, 487 23 4,068 05 035 08 3, 336 44 4, 478 55 2, 616 34

25, 726 39 79 42 87 90 124 17 31 25 45 10 127 16 99 90 37 50

788 60

266 00

248 00

305 50

376 72 82 60

54 80

18 80

Total.

763 80

700 80

1, 233 82

5, 513 43 11, 200 82 11, 833 31 12, 891 04 11, 819 90 12, 883 02

8, 704 13

754 50

689 00 78, 987 57

The appended sketch A shows the progress of the improvements. The dark portions represent that portion of the river which is practically completed, and needs but little additional work ; tbe shaded portions represent the work contemplated to July 1, 1874.

Sketch B shows the work done at Portage City, giving location of dams, their length, and date of building.

Sketch C shows the work of the Merrimac party.
Sketch D shows tbe work of the Muscoda party.

The Portage party has worked over a space of three and one-half miles during the season with great success; the steamer Granite State, which was engaged on this section, ran over the whole distance in October, the water being at one foot above lowest known, and the boat drawing over three feet.

The Merrimac party has worked over a space of four and one-half miles with equal success, forming a 3-foot channel as rapidly as the work progressed. This party had the task of improving Merrimac Flats, which previously never had over 1.5 feet at low water, whereas, now, an apparently permanent channel of 31 feet exists over the flats.

The Muscoda party has worked from Moscoda downward, a distance of seven miles, completing the season's work by closing Tiger Slough, and returning to Muscoda on October 16, for winter quarters. The Winneconne, drawing 34 inches, made the trip back over the work of ihe season, with scows and quarter-boat in tow without any difficulty.

The work, thus far, extends over a space of thirty-nine miles, or nearly one-third of the river, which will require very little more work to perfect the same. There will be Tequired two dams in the vicinity of Dekorra, seven miles below Portage City, and the raising of several of the dams of 1871. Several of the dams on Allen's Flats, nine miles belos Portage, require lengthening; at the lower end of these flats there was an accumulation of sand wbich turned the channel into a side branch of the river, which, under the circumstances, it will be advisable to preserve, unless the channel originally designed will be found clear, after the opening of next season. About 900 feet of dam will secure the desired effect. A settling of No. 8 of 1872, 100 feet long, leaves a doubtful channel for about one-half mile; the repairs of this dam will secure over 4 feet over this space. Between here and the end of this season's work (seven miles) very little improvement will be necessary; three dams and some bank-protection will probably complete the channel.

From Richland City to Port Andrew, a distance of thirteen miles, the channel is over 3 feet and improving, with the exception of three bars, wbich will require four dams to correct the same.

Borings were made at Orion and Port Andrew to bed-rock, which was found to be not less than 6 feet below low water; it was hence determined to turn the channel in both cases into the north branch of the river, thereby securing one substantial rockbauk, a d giving the towns the benefit of the improvement. At Port Audrew this was done in October by closing Little and Big Tiger Sloughs; at Orion this can only be done at a fair stage of water when rafts prefer Orion Slough, and will be less likely to interfere with the operations. The work mentioned will probably be the first work of the Muscoda party next spring.

The amount of work probably completed by the end of the present fiscal year (June 30, 1074,) will be fifty miles.

In order to carry on the improvements as rapidly as desirable during the next season, an available appropriation of $175,000 will be required. The purchase of a snag-boat is recommended to be operated next season. Accompanying this report is a diagram of water-ganges of 1873. Respectfully submitted.

John NADER,

Assistant Engineer. Col. D. C. Houstox,

United States Corps of Engineers.

APPENDIX C.

ANNUAL REPORT OF CAPTAIN S. M. MANSFIELD), CORPS

OF ENGINEERS, FOR THE FISCAL YEAR ENDING JUNE 30, 1874.

UNITED STATES ENGINEER OFFICE,

Detroit, Mich., August 3, 1874. GENERAL: I have the honor to forward herewith my annual reports relating to the works of harbor improvements under my charge for the fiscal year ending June 30, 1874. Very respectfully, your obedient servant,

Ś. M. MANSFIELD, Captain of Engineers and But. Lieut. Col., U. S. A. Brig. Gen. A. A. HUMPHREYS,

Chief of Engineers, U. S. A.

[ocr errors]

FRANKFORT HARBOR, MICHIGAN. The original plan of improvement of this harbor embraced, as estimated, 400 feet sheet-piling

$3, 259 50 320 feet pier-work.

13, 191 60 800 feet pier-work

52, 305 50

1,520 running feet... Dredging 64,080 cubic yards, at 25 cents per yard

68,756 60 22,743 10

Total ......

91, 499 70 and contemplated a new cut and two parallel lines of pier- work, with a width of 200 feet between the cut through the strip of land which separated the river basin or pond from Lake Michigan; the length of north pier 720 feet, and of the south pier 800 feet. The new cut to be 750 south of old outlet.

From a resurvey (August, 1867,) a change in plan required an extension of the piers further into the lake, which increased the estimate for close-piling and dredging; the north pier to be 672 feet, (21 cribs,) south pier, 832 feet, (26 cribs;) 550 feet close-piling and 85,000 cubic yards dredging; estimated as follows: For pier-work, 47 cribs

$103, 400 For close-piling, 550 feet.

13,000 For dredging.

30,000 Total

146, 400 Appropriated 1866–67

98, 541 1867 and 1868. Work commenced July 1, 1867, and up to June 30, 1868, there was constructed 384 running feet of pier, (12 cribs;) 525 running feet of close.piling, and 117,573 cubic yards of sand, earth, and clay removed. Allotted June 30, 1868

$10,000 1868 and 1869. During this fiscal year 12,641 cubic yards of earth was removed from between the piers; 114 cords brush put in piers; 382 cords of stone placed, and 165 cubic feet timber furnished. Allotted June 30, 1869

$31,500

To make a good harbor of refuge, it was recommended that both piers be carried out to the 12.foot curve, 390 feet, and channel dredged to 14 feet; cost, $60,000.

1869 and 1870.—During this year the north pier was extended 320 feet; channel dredged to 11 feet of water, and east end of cbannel re vetments protected by wings. Transferred to Grand Haven..

$1, 885 Appropriated July 11, 1870...

10,000 Former recommendation, that the piers be extended 390 feet, renewed.

1870 and 1871.—The wings on east ends of north and sonth piers extended 210 feet; 1 crib (64 feet) sunk in extension of north pier, and channel dredged to 12 feet water. Appropriated March 3, 1871...

$10,000 00 Less amount covered into Treasury, (act July 12, 1871)

5,721 50

4, 278 50 Recommendation for extension of piers reiterated; the north pier 264 feet and south pier 328 feet. Also, that channel be dredged to 14 feet. Work to cost $56,000.

1871 and 1872.-Two cribs, (64 feet,) one on each, were placed in ex. tension of the piers and superstructure built over them; also over the crib sunk in 1871. The north pile revetment was reballasted with stone. Appropriated June 10, 1872

$10,000 A further addition of 264 feet to each pier was recommended, to cost the estimate of 1871, less $10,000 appropriated, $ 16,000.

1872 and 1873.—The south pier was extended 65 feet, (1 crib.) Appropriation March 3, 1873.....

.... $10,000 To dredge the channel, it was estimated that $10,000 would be required, in addition to the $36,000 for construction of the remaining 378 feet of piers, 214 on south and 164 on north side.

1873 and 1874.- Work accomplished in the year ending June 30, 1874 Three cribs were suuk in prolongation of south pier, extending it 150 feet, and superstructure placed over them, under contract of May 10, 1873, with William Nicolls. Appropriated June 23, 1874......

$10.000 During this season it is intended to sink one crib (50 by 30 by 264 feet) in extension of the south pier, to do necessary dredging in channel, and close intervals between cribs in the present work, through which a large quantity of sand finds its way into the channel, and inake some necessary repairs to the filling.

The recommendations of last year are here renewed, as well as the estimate, less $10,000 just appropriated.

From the above review, it appears that the original plan of improve. ment adopted (1866–67) contemplated an expenditure of $146,400, which, in June, 1869, was increased by an additional estimate of $60,000.

There have been appropriated and allotted for this harbor the follow ing sums: In 1966–67

$9-, 541 In 1-6

10,000 In 1869, $31,500, less $1,885 transferred to Grand Haven

29,615 In 1870

10.000 In 1871

10,000 In 1872

10,000 In 1273

10,000 In 1874

10,000

Total

188, 156

« 이전계속 »