페이지 이미지

$191 75 699 31

224 73

74 00 5 65

116 65

13 75

On account of Printing,

Tax refunded,
Deaf and dumb,
House of Refuge,
County Superintendent,
Interest, county,
Extra tuition,
Special school revenue,
Road tax,
Tuition tax,
Township tax,
Dog tax,

32 10 109 67 272 00 212 80

2 50 3,607 19 6,457 45 2,616 17 5,971 og 1,330 97 824 65

[ocr errors]


Amount on hand June 1, 1873,
Receipts to June 1, 1874,

$35,497 69 $66, 167 92 43,214 05


$109, 381 97 Amount of disbursements,

$35,497 69 Amount railroad orders redeemed and not registered, 60,000 00


$95,497 69 Balance on hand,

$13,884 38 Examined and approved June 4, 1874, by


Commissioners Vermillion County, Ind.

JAMES A. FOLAND, Treasurer of Vermillion County.


This is the southern township of the county, and is bounded on the north by Helt township, on the south by Vigo county, on the east by the Wabash river, or the line of Parke county, and on the west by the boundary of Illinois.

The soil of the township varies greatly in its general character. The river bottoms are of the richest alluvial, while hill lands are scarcely second quality. Yet, as a general thing the lands of the township are good, and each acre is valuable, because of the immense mineral beds of coal underlying them.

There were in the township in 1870, 11,995 acres of land under cultivation, valued at $694,610; while the uncultivated is generally covered with good oak, poplar, walnut, beech, and other kinds of timber of various qualities.

The live stock of 1870 was estimated at $94,430; farm pro ductions at $142,922, and the number of bushels of Indian corn at 98,095.

. The improvements of the last four years have added largely to these figures, as within this period they have been furnished the advantages of railroad transportation, which have given new impulses to every branch of business, and greatly increased the area of their agricultural cultivation.

Within this period, also, a number of coal banks have been opened, which are now being vigorously worked, and from which heavy shipments are made of as good coal as perhaps can be found in the State.

The coal of this township, it may be said, is just becoming a specialty in their resources, for there are sufficient quantities of it, of easy access and of good quality, to make its mining and exportation a remunerative business.

The broad valleys of the Wabash, and those of Brouillets Creek afford the richest soils of the township. The other lands, however, which have been brought under cultivation, are found to be both productive and profitable. The uplands are underlaid with coal, while the lowlands are only chiefly distinguished for their soil.

The early settlement of this Wabash country was attended with a good deal of sickness, as indeed was the case with most of the broad valleys of the West. These diseases had to be battled with by the first settlers, and of course many fell victims, of men, women and children, to their pioneer enterprize. But it has been found, as the country is cleared and a better class of dwellings are erected, the general health will compare favorably with any other portion of the State.

As near as we can ascertain, from the statements of old settlers, it appears that the first inhabitants of the county came from Fort Harrison. Among the first of these was John Vannest, who came to Vermillion county about the year 1816, selected his lands, and having purchased them at the “Vincennes Land Sales," proceeded to remove at once with his family to his new possessions. He first entered a quarter section, but the whole section finally came into his hands, most of which is still owned by his descendants. He had scarcely got permanently located in his frontier home, when he began to be troubled by the Indians, who, although claiming to be at peace with the whites, were apparently bent on preventing the occupation of their hunting grounds by the settler. Previous to this time, however, we are told that during a quarrel between two soldiers at Fort Harrison, one of them discharged his weapon at the other, but the ball missing the body of his opponent, lodged in the person of an Indian squaw, killing her instantly. Whereupon the enraged savages vowed to execute summary vengeance on the first white woman who should cross the Wabash. Their hatred then, of course, was at once directed toward the family of Vannest. They made two attempts to kill Mrs. Vannest, but were frustrated in their designs, once by a friendly Indian, who had formed a strong attachment for the family, and a second time by the timely interference of Mrs. Vannest's brothers, who repulsed the redskins in a short conflict. But the situation at this time seemed so precarious that Mr. Vannest concluded to remove his wife and children back to the fort. He did so, but returned at once to his land and commenced to clear his farm, braving the danger with that courage and tenacity so commonly exhibited by the early settlers of Indiana. The Indian troubles at length subsiding, his wife returned and lived in peaceable enjoyment until her death. Their son, John Vannest, was the first white child born in the county. And here let us mention that from the section of land entered by John Vannest, the elder, no less than forty-five men entered the service of their country during the late war.

William Hamilton, another who can lay claim as being one of the first families, settled in this township in March, 1818. His son, John Hamilton, claims to have been in the county longer than any one now living. Wm. Hamilton, another son, is the oldest person living who was born in Clinton county.

Capt. Swan, "an old boatman," and a prominent citizen, who has made over sixty trips to New Orleans, on both “rafts” and “flats,” came to Vermillion county in 1823. The Captain sat on the first jury impanneled in the county.

Among the early settlers of this township we may class Dr. J. B. Hedges, who came here from New York with his father, John W. Hedges, when a boy, in 1824. He grew to manhood, studied medicine, and has practiced here some thirty years. He has now measurably retired.

John R. Whitcomb came in 1831. He is now among the venerables, and is highly esteemed all about here as “Uncle John." His battles are fought, his fortune is made, and now full of years, he waits his time.

William Harris, government surveyor, laid off the village of Clinton in 1818; and, in honor of De Witt Clinton, of New York, gave it his name.

The growth of Clinton was exceedingly slow until the completion of the railroad, since which time it has been gathering new life, and now bids fair to make quite a business place. It lies sifteen miles north of Terre Haute, on the west bank of the Wabash, and has all the advantages of a flourishing locality. It is the largest town in the county, having one thousand inhabitants. It has five dry goods and three drug stores, four provision stores, four grain warehouses, from which large quantities of grain are shipped annually, two flouring mills, and no saloon ! The physicians of the place are Drs. Corkins, Crozier, Bogart and Stewart, who are said to be well read and safe practitioners. John Whitcomb is the oldest merchant in the place, and J. M.

« 이전계속 »